w4d1 – arm is recovering

lifting has been compromised not only due to me hurting my elbow but also due to the work hours of late. my present schedule calls for a little earlier start where I also need to be scrubbed in. I have gone lifting at work in the afternoons but it is really a mess. lots a people coupled with my strong urge to get home.

for these lazy comfort reasons I have decided to lift with my wife at her gym during the spring. it is considerably closer to home and we can lift together/at the same time. we will have to wait and see how this turns out. the general idea is to lift twice during the weekend (mornings) and twice during the working week (evenings).

as I went lifting yesterday, there were a couple of decently strong guys in the work gym. as it was monday, they had claimed both barbell stands and the benches to go with that. military presses were not an option for me. asked to work in with one of the guys and he agreed. my lifts were not impressive but I am happy for being able to handle a few more kgs without great discomfort. those guys were repping out with 115 kg at, approximately, 80 kg bodyweight.

lifts

not ”main lift”, this is just recovery and trying to get back to not getting tears in my eyes while un-racking the bar.

bench press, after light warmups with an empty bar

  1. 3x 60 kg
  2. 3x 60 kg
  3. 3x 80 kg
  4. 3x 91 kg
  5. 2x 103.5 kg
  6. 2x 103.5 kg
  7. 2x 100 kg

so far, so good. could lock out right arm properly. still a little discomfort while under tension, but I am not too worried about that.

close grip bench press: 5 sets of 10 reps at 73.5 kg

these sets made me even more happy. arm held up good.

pullups: 10 reps. extending the arm between strict reps hurt and I quit after just one set.

face pulls: a slightly thicker band than before, 15+10 reps. arm hurt a bit and I called it quits.

conclusion: a step in the right direction.

be good to each other.

Det här inlägget postades i bench press och har märkts med etiketterna , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

3 kommentarer till w4d1 – arm is recovering

  1. James skriver:

    It’s all a matter of perspective. In order to get away from doing partial squats and bench presses, I’ve had to back way, way off the weight. From my point of view, your bench press is to die for.

  2. Fatman skriver:

    Good to hear you’re getting back to it. Do myofascial release work on that arm, dammit.

    I’ve been working on my left tricep and discovered a massive ball of agony right up by where it attaches to the shoulder (which, I think, part of the issue holding my bench back).

    ”extending the arm between strict reps hurt”

    Pullups are really hard on the elbows, avoid these until you are benching without pain IMO.

Kommentera

