w6d3 – end of the year

at 08:20, smelly states that he ”never liked the tough guy mentality”. good to hear from someone who, to a certain extent, works quite hard to maintain his apparent toughness with cutting out carbs and such. still, mark bell has lifted weights I will never touch and he has released more reebok shoe models than I ever will.

went lifting on dec 31st to end 2015 end on a high note. there were a group of complete and utter idiots benching next to me. clapping their hands, yelling things such as ”national champion!” (but in swedish) and lecturing each other about how to get a job. my estimate is that they were just over 20 years old and at such age a certain level of idiocy is easily forgiven (I just think back to how I behaved ten years ago). still, it annoyed the living daylight out of me. chose not to pick a fight but to endure.

wife benched a single at 38.5 kg, which is good for her when you consider the ruptured hernia. 2015 contained a lot of setbacks for her with regards to lifting, but she has really pushed on anyway. I am proud of her (mostly for things other than lifting, though).

my new years resolution is this: in 2016, I will become slightly stronger than I have become in 2015.

main lift

bench press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 85 kg
  2. 3x 96 kg
  3. 3x 107.5 kg (1+)
  4. 2x 107.5 kg (joker)
  5. 2x 108.5 kg (joker)
  6. 2x 108.5 kg (joker)

got the three reps I intended to. woho!

assistance lifts

close grip bench press: 4x 10 reps at 78.5 kg + 10 reps at 75 kg

I died a little inside during the last set. my will was broken, my muscles were worn. lowered the weight and did the necessary number of reps.

krocs: 4x 20 reps at 42.5 kg + 14 reps at 40 kg (per side)

I wanted to puke and/or faint. pushed myself a little bit but gave up, taking solace in the fact I benched what I intended to.

be nice to each other and watch the ”daredevil” series.

Det här inlägget postades i bench press och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till w6d3 – end of the year

  1. Fatman skriver:

    I really like the Supertraining videos because the guys don’t try to act like tough guys and they look like they’re having a ton of fun. All this while lifting extremely impressive weights and doling out great advice. I also like how they’ll just randomly toss in a clip of an impressive strength feat in the middle of something unrelated. ”Oh, and by the way, this is So-And-So squatting 650, NBD”.

    Smelly seems cheerful, goofy and down-to-earth, quite unlike the typical scowling red-faced lifting guru with a sausage forehead from steroid bloat. That Jujimufu video is bursting with positive energy.

    Re: benching douchebags, I often get irritated by the frat bros at my gym, but yeah, when I think of myself at that age, the less is said the better.

Kommentera

