w4d1 – a temporary setback

I made the wrong bet. as usual. look at the post-fight press conference here.

did not sleep much at all. ate too little yesterday. could have made better decisions for myself. paid for it in the gym this morning as my body ached when I woke up. experienced muscle soreness, which I have not felt for quite some time.

the previous 3+ week, I could bang out 5 solid reps at 70 kgs. how would I fare today?

main lift

military press, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 57.5 kg
  2. 3x 65 kg
  3. 3x 71 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 71 kg (annoyed)
  5. 2x 71 kg (even more annoyed)

so I bombed out on my training set. however, I would like to put a spin on this: if memory serves, I have not had a bad week of training since sometime during the spring. I have constantly improved according to plan for the better part of the year. with those things in mind, I can accept todays less than stellar performance for what it is: an opportunity to improve myself.

assistance lifts

bench press: 5x 10 at 78.5 kg

krocs: 5x 20 at 40 kg

dumbbell shoulder press: 10x 24 kg, 9x 22 kg, 8x 20 kg

cable triceps pushdown: 12x 45 kg, 10x 45 kg, 10x 40 kg

that’s all.

Det här inlägget postades i military press och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

6 kommentarer till w4d1 – a temporary setback

  1. Fatman skriver:

    I read about the fight this morning. It made the news as the fastest knockout in UFC history, or something.

  2. Fatman skriver:

    ”so I bombed out on my training set.”

    If I worried about this, I’d have quit lifting years ago.

    Also 3 reps on a 3+ day is not ”bombing out”.

  3. unrealisedgains skriver:

    I met McGregor in Dublin, and also went to college with his friend. Never knew he’d make it this big!

    Small world!

  4. huikat skriver:

    That’s a good mindset not to beat yourself up over a bad workout, haha.

Kommentera

