w3d2 – keep your chin up

it’s draining on everybody. anybody tells you differently, they’re just fucking lying. missing weight, having bad meets, getting hurt, […] it sucks. but it’s part of the process.

in the video above, dave tate talks about how to keep your spirit up when things are tough, how to push through the perceived grind. immediately, I apply what he is saying to how I look at my work.

for the position I am in, I am comparatively old. too old. I chose a field of profession as a 20 year old when I went to university for the first time. after graduation, that choice did not really turn out as I hoped it would. worked for a bit with something unrelated to my education. moved. went back to university and got another degree in the same field, but almost purely because it would land me a somewhat secure job.  graduated, worked for a bit in a great research environment. applying for grants, worrying about funding and paying attention to academic politics was stuff that came in the package.

made choices. decided to go back to university and get a degree that guarantees that I can do a lot of various things if I choose to. the world will, if I wish it to be, be my smorgasbord. I can see the light in the end of the tunnel for the third time.

how does this relate to what dave tate talks about? I dare claim that I have grinded through a lot of slightly unpleasant things. still, I am greatly privileged, something that I both acknowledge and appreciate. I just need to remind myself of that from time to time. today is such a time.

main lift

squat, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 128.5 kg
  2. 3x 3x 147.5 kg
  3. 5x 163.5 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 163.5 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 165 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 165 kg (joker)

got five reps in the 1+ sets. subconsciously, I have decided to get five reps on the 1+ week while squatting. we’ll see how long I can keep that up as the load increases, but I am confident that the squatting future looks bright.

in the last set I lost composure in the bottom position. could save it without much issue and, most importantly, without any real discomfort. I just had to make an effort. hopefully that was the good mornings and all the damned joker sets paying off.

assistance lifts

good mornings: 5x 10 at 83.5 kg

these felt really good today. I did not go as deep as I have done previously, but today I had a mirror in  front of me. by using the mirror and proprioception I aimed to do the movement to a depth that is a little deeper (bad word) than where I am when starting the deadlift.

barbell calf raise: 25 x83.5 kg, 20x 83.5 kg, 20x 83.5 kg

something for the lower legs. I do not think that the calves are a limiting factor, but perhaps this will be beneficial down the line.

ab wheel (on knees): 5x 15

band pullaparts: 5x 60 reps

that’s all.

 

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

