w2d4 – give thanks

I have things to do and I possibly have places to be. as a compromise I went home early. in the immortal words of Frankie Four-Fingers: ”I am not in Rome, Doug. I’m in a rush.” also, by going home early I took a break for a few hours before continuing to work. my better half will be away tonight and I can hopefully put a couple of hours into the current project (deadline next week).

earlier today, we had a seminar where we discussed examinations and treatment options in a number of conditions related to skin manifestations. I feel like have some things figured out but need to really hammer some distinctions. for instance, what exceptions exist when it comes to using corticosteroids on infants? such things. also, to make sure that I have the diagnostic criteria well memorised when it comes to atopic eczema.

this week and last, I have noticed that the clientele in this hospital gym have changed a bit. this morning, there were several new faces. one of them even squatted somewhat decently. she even used the squat rack. too bad the safety pins were placed on the floor.

what none of them have yet managed to do decently is deadlift. a new variation today was to, while a lockout, lean back so much that you almost fall over. luckily, that did not happen but I really suspected it would.

main lift

deadlift, 5 / 5 / 5. after warmup:

  1. 5x 133.5 kg
  2. 5x 153.5 kg
  3. 5x 175 kg (5)

not very heavy but heavy enough. I have come to think about the 5 rep week as a rest week, which is not entirely true.

assistance lifts

squat: 5x 10 at 112.5 kg

barbell calf raise: 5x 15 reps at 112.5 kg.

ab wheel: 3x 15 reps

band flyes: 3x 60 reps

that’s all.

Det här inlägget postades i deadlift och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

7 kommentarer till w2d4 – give thanks

  1. Fatman skriver:

    ”while a lockout, lean back so much that you almost fall over”

    This over-pull was a thing when I was younger and just starting out in lifting. All the older lifters did it, so we noobs copied them because a) they were huge, b) they were huge, and c) when you’re huge and lift tons of weight, you are obviously doing everything right.

    These were mostly guys who competed, so maybe it used to be a thing in PL comps?

    Also some of them would roll their shoulders back at the top of the DL. To my credit, I did not emulate this part.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      ah. some habits never die. or they travel to sweden and become a thing among middle-aged men working in the public sector. who could have known? 🙂

      on your blog, you wrote this comment:

      As for overall training volume, I’m highly doubtful of any ”moar volume = moar progress” claims. Volume works very well for new lifters (something something neural pathways), but diminishing returns set in quickly.

      A good baseline is benching 2x, squatting 2x and deadlifting 1x per week, then see how you progress recovery-wise and modify it from there.

      I want to emphasize that doing each lift twice per week has been a tremendously positive change for me. thank you again for pointing this out. 🙂

  2. James skriver:

    I hired a private trainer for six sessions to help improve my form for deadlifts, squats, bench press, and overhead press. My first time working with him was yesterday, and today, I got the chance to practice what I learned, particularly on deadlifts and rack pulls. Certainly, my numbers aren’t as impressive as yours, but I think I’m finally getting a better handle on maintaining (for the most part) a neutral spine during my deadlifts. It makes a really big difference and thankfully, my back feels fine today.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      I’m glad for you if you feel that you learned things from the trainer. that probably means he knows what he is doing and that you are eager to learn. I am impressed by your desire to get better at lifting. keep it up! 🙂

  3. MichiganMethod skriver:

    If I have a bench or something behind me when I’m deadlifting heavy I’m always terrified that I’ll fall backwards and snap my neck like in Million Dollar Baby.

Kommentera

