w1d4 – win some now, win the rest later

got slightly negative news on wednesday (nothing that keeps me awake at night). got great news friday afternoon which lets me sleep even better than I already do. thanks to previous university degrees (two) and recent research achievements (if you want to call it that) I can finish this current track I am on six months ahead of time. so, instead of doing it in the scheduled five and a half years, it will only be five years of which I have almost done three (three by christmas). so, the working week ends on a high note.

I have thought about workload recently. if I had not cut down my work volume during the summer, I am not sure I would have lasted this long. still, I have to pay attention to where I devote my time and perceived energy.

I was really tired going to the gym. both due to the things I have done during the week (dermatologic surgery, woho!) and life in general. all things considered, it is a good tradeoff: increased happiness for slightly less energy in the gym.

main lift

deadlift, 3 /3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 143.5 kg
  2. 3x 163.5 kg
  3. 5x 185 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 185 (joker)
  5. 3x 187.5 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 187.5 kg (joker)

nothing to write home about. I did the bare minimum number of reps I had to do. on week 6 last training cycle (i.e. two weeks ago) I pulled a relatively easy set of 6x 191 kg. today, I actively chose to play it safe and it felt awesome.

assistance lifts

squat: 5x 10 reps at 121 kg

assistance squat is the best squat. heavy enough to make me sweat a bit, but not heavy enough that I need to be 100% mentally alert all the time. if form breaks down, which it might do in the last set, there is no problem to save the lift with my stronk lower back. also, the belt.

barbell calf raise: 5x 10 reps at 121 kg

just for volume. calves are ridiculously endurable.

situps: 5x 15 reps

band pullaparts: 5x 60 reps

Det här inlägget postades i deadlift och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

3 kommentarer till w1d4 – win some now, win the rest later

  1. James skriver:

    ”nothing to write home about. I did the bare minimum number of reps I had to do,” he says.

Kommentera

