w1d3 – bring out your allergies, let me have a look!

the other day, I met a patient with chronic urticaria. this person has suffered from this condition for a little more than two years. needless to say, it was not the most desirable position to be in. migrating urticaric plaques all over. also observed koebner phenomena in this patient (although koebner is not at all specific for urticaria). basic dermatology, which is the subject of the course I am currently taking, is proving to be very interesting and sometimes quite challenging.

with regards to different things being challenging, I saw an infographic (take this with two pinches of salt) about things that correlate with being smarter than average. I have not read the study, so the above link is for entertainment only. I match 6/8 criteria on the infographic, but in the environment where I work and study I am far from above average. not that it matters in any way, since it can very well be discussed what is measured: intelligence or education. or what social class you have been brought up in, for that matter. anyway. a quote that I have encountered lots of times is this one:

If you’re the smartest person in the room, you’re in the wrong room

I have no idea who might be the responsible person, if one can be identified at all. still, I like it.

main lift

bench press, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 78.5 kg
  2. 3x 88.5 kg
  3. 5x 101 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 101 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 102.5 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 102.5 kg (joker)
  7. 2x 103.5 kg (joker)

felt decently stronk while pressing. my plan (really the 5/3/1 program) is working excellent for me. since I read up a bit more and, most importantly, got good input from more experienced lifters results are coming slow and steady. just as I want them to. woho!

assistance lifts

close grip bench press: 5x 10 reps at 72.5 kg

I have decided to no longer play the close grip bench how I feel like, but rather use certain percentages etc. for certain weeks in the lifting cycle. maybe this is a good idea, maybe not.

krocs: 5x 20 reps (per side) at 40 kg

there are no heavier dumbbells at the gym, but 40 kg was quite enough for me today.

band flyes: 5x 60

that’s that.

Det här inlägget postades i bench press och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

4 kommentarer till w1d3 – bring out your allergies, let me have a look!

  1. James skriver:

    Great numbers on your bench press.

  2. Fatman skriver:

    I only got 4/8, so you’re 50% smarter than I am.

Kommentera

