w1d2 – feeling ill, enjoying the chill

the temperature has dropped just below zero degrees celsius. yesterday, I was cold the entire day due to choosing a stupid place to sit down and work for a couple of hours. had dressed as the season calls for (long armed shirt, knitted sweater etc) and felt pretty good about it. developed a feeling of nausea, combined with a premonition indicating a coming illness, around noon. this was all a slight downer. perhaps I had slept or eaten too little? I will never know.

the feeling persisted throughout the night and as I am sitting at work I am still considering whether or not to go home, not giving a damn about the semi-important lecture this afternoon (I have already read about the topic in the slides, a book and a review article). we’ll see how it turns out.

quite close to me there are junior students (first semester at the university hospital) who are anxious about their coming exam. I’d like to tell them it is going to be fine, but on the other hand I think they will benefit more from discovering this themselves after they have put in the work necessary to pass the aforementioned exam.

the satisfaction of completing something hard (or not-really-easy) can be a great feeling. lately, when I have passed or completed things, I have not experienced that satisfaction but rather the absence of disappointment. hope to turn that around.

main lift

squat, 3 /3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 121 kg
  2. 3x 138.5 kg
  3. 7x 155 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 155 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 156 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 156 kg (joker)
  7. 1x 157.5 kg (joker)

after four reps in the 3+ sets, I considered vomiting in the trash bin. my body felt horrible. took two deep breaths and did three more reps. feared I would pop blood vessels in my eyes coming up from the last squat. luckily, this did not happen. instead I could rest and go on with joker sets.

assistance lifts

good mornings: 5x 10 at 78.5 kg. not too deep, but to a depth I expect will give the best cost-benefit.

band pullaparts: 5x 60. shoulders are a bit odd (creaking, sore) from the last few weeks. hope the band pullaparts will help like they always do.

barbell calf raise: 5x 10 at 78.5 kg. maybe I should go for higher volume, like 20 reps per set? the calves can take it, especially at this low weight.

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

