w6d4 – cycle ends on a high note (PR)

I find this funny.

a part of my lifting routine is using my headphones. I can listen to whatever I want and not disturb anyone else with my poor taste in music. this feels like a respectful and intelligent compromise between adult (me and the other gym goers) who do not want to interact with each other more than necessary during morning training sessions.

not everyone wants in on this, however.

some days, a couple gets to the gym about 30 minutes after me. I am the first there and thus they are second (they are skinny, thus they count as one). thursday, they connected a music source (presumably a smartphone) to the gym stereo AUX and played some horrible excuse for music. I heard it through my headphones. thus, friday, I decided to claim the stereo before they even got there. today, everyone got to enjoy a violin concert with jane aubourg (link is just a taste of her music). not so sure that this was appreciated.

main lift

deadlift, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 151 kg
  2. 3x 171 kg
  3. 6x 191 kg (1+)
  4. 1x 210 kg (joker)
  5. 1x 220 kg (joker, PR)
  6. 0x 230 kg

so, doing six reps in the 1+ set did not hurt much. opted for heavy singles. tried 210 (previous PR was 215) and it went up easy. went full retard and put on 230 kg, trying to get that 500 lbs lift. barbell did not budge an inch. settled for 220 kg instead and got it. form was not even near optimal, but I got the lift. woho. a little bit closer to 500 lbs / 227.5 kg.

assistance lifts

squat: 5x 10 at 120 kg

band pullaparts: 5x 60

that’s all, she wrote. deload looms. tomorrow morning I get to sleep in.

Det här inlägget postades i deadlift och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

5 kommentarer till w6d4 – cycle ends on a high note (PR)

  1. James skriver:

    Sorry you didn’t make it to the quarter of a ton (imperial measurement) club this time around. Half that weight tweaked my lumbar area, so now I’m in remediation mode (the consequence of being older but with less experience). No deadlifts for the time being, but as my back heals up, I might consider rack pulls as a temporary option to build my lumbar strength up.

    Better luck next time.

  2. Fatman skriver:

    You’re probably already good for the 500, 220×1 right after 191×6 is skronger than working up to 230×1 IMO.

    Besides, the deadlift is one of those lifts that refuses to follow logic and does everything in its power to humiliate you and throw off your programming calculations so it can laugh in your face and revel in your despair. It’s fine.

Kommentera

