w6d1 – make effort, get PR

every day is important, but today is actually a little more important for two specific reasons: I have slept really good for about a week and I am a little more than halfway through a really long commitment at work (at the end of which I will reap rewards like there is no tomorrow).

hope to continue the odyssey through video game history during the week. for now, you’ll have to do with a grumpy american guy and an old british guy. they are both affable blokes, though.

the weekend was very relaxing. I am ready to take on the week. now, there are ten days of higher intensity (not to mention the past ten days, which have also been pretty intense) but I am confident I  can pull through. getting enough sleep/rest obviously makes a difference for me.

main lift

military press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 57.5 kg
  2. 3x 67.5 kg
  3. 3x 73.5 kg (1+)
  4. 2x 73.5 kg (joker)
  5. 1x 75 kg (joker)
  6. 1x 76 kg (joker, also PR)
  7. 0x 77.5 kg (got stuck halfway)

I am happy to set a new PR on a joker set. make effort, cash in.

assistance lifts

bench press (not paused): 5×10 at 83.5 kg

adjusted my elbow tucking a bit. I’ve been thinking about how I possibly tuck too much on the way down and tucked a little less. the reps felt easier and I could (subjectively) develop more power on my way to lockout.

to me, it is pretty hard to figure out lifting stuff sometimes. even if I read and watch videos, it is far from obvious to me what details I can improve. if this adjustment is something that proves useful in the long run, I will be happy for it.

pullups: 5×10

band triceps pushdown: 5×15

band pullaparts: 2x 60

dumbbell shoulder press: 9x 24 kg, 8x 22 kg

that’s all.

Det här inlägget postades i military press och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till w6d1 – make effort, get PR

  1. Fatman skriver:

    The whole tucking elbows thing is for morbidly obese shirted lifters whose bar path involves more horizontal than vertical displacement. You have to flare your elbows when benching raw.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Thanks for telling me. I think I’ve got the flaring somewhat under control when pressing. Regardless, I have just tucked like there was no tomorrow and that MIGHT have been one of several limiting factors.

Kommentera

