w5d3 – samus aran!

samus aran is and was a groundbreaking character. as far as I know, it was the first time a woman was cast (in you want to call it that) as the protagonist in an action-packed video game. as I played through the original metroid when I was a kid (and it was freaking hard!) I did not really think about the gender of the character I was controlling. no doubt since all of the characters in my others games were male and thus very easy for me to identify with.

as I grew somewhat older and played through super metroid (still one of the greatest games I have played) I came to appreciate that samus was a woman. to me, it made the story much more believable. it was not just another guy-with-a-gun, such as in super probotector (or contra III, depending on where you bought the game). metroid brings something more to the table.

at 6’3 and 200 pounds, samus is a powerhouse. I bet she could get an elite total without issue.

I have been sleeping well for about a week. maybe there is some correlation to me actually doing the relaxing exercises I’ve planned to do.

main lift

bench press (all reps paused), 5 / 5 / 5. after warmup:

  1. 5x 72.5 kg
  2. 5x 83.5 kg
  3. 5x 93.5 kg (5)

this felt good. the weights were basically the same as my last 5 week, but the load did not feel as heavy as I remembered it. when I re-racked the bar, I felt I had one or two easy reps left in the tank. whether or not that is true, it fills me with confidence.

assistance lifts

close grip bench press: 5x 10 at 72.5 kg. nice and easy.

pullups: 5x 10

I wanted to do kroc rows but there are no dumbbells heavy enough to fit me (heaviest is 30 kg). tried to use a barbell for rowing (also, almost unlimited loading capacity!). did not work out so good. probably need to get used to the movement for a bit.

band pullaparts: 5x 60

band triceps pushdown: 5x 15

situps (normal sissy ones): 3x 15

band face pulls: 3x 10

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i bench press och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

5 kommentarer till w5d3 – samus aran!

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Oh man, Contra brings back some sweet childhood memories. Don’t remember playing Metroid.

    I don’t like barbell rows – too much lower back involvement and not nearly enough upper. Google Mike Tuscherer’s lever row.

  2. Ping: w5d4 – super probotector | lyfta på jobbet

Kommentera

