w4d4 – and behold, a white horse

watching the first episode of ”marco polo” on netflix. fifteen years ago (wow, I am getting old) I read a book called ”the journeyer”, a fictional novel about the compagnia polo and how marco met the khan khubilai. the novel obviously made its mark in my mind as I am now quite excited to watch the netflix series. the reviews I have stumbled upon have not been positive, so we’ll just have to see where this lands. it cannot, however, be worse than true blood.

one of the greatest, if not the greatest, series I have seen is the wire. I am hardly alone with this opinion. since each season had a certain theme, the stories told could highlight very different aspects of life. being no artist of any kind myself, I truly appreciated how it all came together.

on monday, a theoretical block beings. it will last two weeks and contain two written examinations. the first examination will probably not be very hard (mostly because I have already read all the material twice during the last three weeks), but the second examination I fear will be harder.

main lift

deadlift, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 141 kg
  2. 3x 161 kg
  3. 6x 181 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 181 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 181 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 181 kg (joker)
  7. 2x 181 kg (joker)

this was ok. I can progress to the next week of the program without issue. beforehand, I told myself I could pull seven repetitions without much trouble. this was not true today. still, I am happy for the lifts I have done.

assistance lifts

just as I was finishing up with deadlifts, some guy walks in and takes the squat rack. the other barbells were taken. I considered storming off, insulted to the bone. chose to stay and do what I could instead.

pullups: 3x 10

band pullaparts: 3x 60

triceps pushdowns, band: 3x 15

and behold, a small miracle occurred: a barbell rack got freed up. I immediately claimed it. I did not have much time left before I had to leave to make it to the rounds in time.

squat: 5×10 at 110 kg

should have been 119 kgs, but I slapped on a couple of big plats and did not look back.

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i deadlift och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

6 kommentarer till w4d4 – and behold, a white horse

  1. James skriver:

    Ha! You’re getting old.

  2. MichiganMethod skriver:

    I watched Marco Polo. I’ll let you come up with your own opinion about it. If you haven’t seen Game of Thrones, I’d recommend that over anything else. True Blood was so bad. I had heard such good things about it and was absolutely taken aback by how bad it was.

    If you like ”The Journeyer”, you might like ”Eaters of the Dead” by Michael Crichton.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      like just about everyone else, I follow GoT like a slave. but thanks for the suggestion, I would definitely have followed up on it had I not already taken a liking to the series.

      marco polo is pretty good but I’m not sure about watching the rest of it. what did you think about it?

      again, thank for the suggestion. read ”eater of the dead” a number of years back, around when I watched ”the 13th warrior” which was not a great movie (but antonio banderas has better hair than I’ve ever had).

      • Fatman skriver:

        ”True Blood” was terrible. My wife read and enjoyed the books, and even she agreed that it was terrible. Have not seen Marco Polo.

        Overall I like TV shows and I think TV is slowly but consistently getting better than movies, where for decades it was awful crap used as program filler. But these days every single TV show tends to run 2-3 seasons longer than it should because people really get into it and the network wants to milk the concept for maximum profit gainz. So a show starts out strong and gets you hooked, then a few seasons later it starts to deteriorate and gradually turns to complete shit, but you can’t stop watching because you’ve already invested so much time into it.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        I agree about shows often running for too long. The Wire was pushing it but still held up, imho. Other series not so much (Lost, True Blood, Dexter and so on).

Kommentera

