w4d3 – no time for doubt

slept well but woke up a bit too early. still, I felt great motivation to go lift.

this week is turning out to be quite good and unexpectedly so. the ward to which I am currently assigned did not appear very interesting from afar, but now that I’ve dug in for a few days the feeling has subsided.

my stress levels have decreased significantly since tuesday. even though the aforementioned decrease most likely is only temporary, I enjoy it.

also, I am trying to expand my english vocabulary. when I think about which words I use and for what, I realise that I tend to use the same words over and over again. not that I think I am alone or unique in this case.

a few days ago wall street journal published this:

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration warned that AbbVie Inc.’s new hepatitis C treatments may cause serious liver harm among patients with underlying liver disease—a blow to some of a new generation of drugs seen as a big advance for hepatitis patients.

it is a shame if the drug really causes liver damage. it is also a shame in the sense that gilead can, possibly, set the drug prices at whatever levels they want for their daa product. last, but certainly not least, it is a shame that the drugs are not working since a lot of research put into therapeutic dna vaccines against hepatitis c have basically been thrown out the door since the introduction of daa (no, I am not bitter over the fact that the group lost several big grants due to the issue of hepatitis c being considered ”taken care of”, but I am just saying…).

main lift

bench press, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 78.5 kg
  2. 3x 88.5 kg
  3. 5x 100 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 100 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 101 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 101 kg (joker)
  7. 2x 102.5 kg (joker)

it is obvious that I am not strong when compared to others, but it is also obvious that I have become much stronger than I have been in the past. I am happy for this.

assistance lifts

close grip bench press: 10x 75 kg, 10x 75 kg, 10x 72.5 kg, 10x 70 kg, 10x 70 kg

pullups: 5×10

triceps pushdown with band: 3x 60

 

Det här inlägget postades i bench press och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

3 kommentarer till w4d3 – no time for doubt

  1. James skriver:

    Do you use a spotter when you’re benching those weights? Whenever I get close to my max weight on the bench press, I have to be a little conservative about how far I lower the bar toward my chest when I lift alone (which is all the time anymore). I’ve trapped myself under the barbell before and don’t enjoy the experience.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      No spotter, I almost always lift alone (it was this summer I had the privilege to lift with my friend, the key).

      For all lifts, but especially the bench press, I use weights I know for certain I can lift safely.

      There are lots of great texts written about the bench press and how to get stronger off your chest. I’m afraid I do not have the links available but look to the article archive over at http://www.elitefts.com

      • James skriver:

        Thanks. They need a search feature on the site to save from having to navigate around so much to find relevant material.

Kommentera

