w3d3 – p is for portman

I slept much better tonight. the day at work was better (i.e. far more enjoyable) for various reasons.

used the student gym this morning where the benches are better (harder, slightly broader) than in the ordinary staff gym. there was just one more person in the gym during the whole time I was there. we did not speak. I had forgotten my headphones. the quit was interrupted only by grunts or the sound of barbells hitting racks. it was truly a great way to start the day.

main lift

bench press, 5 / 3  / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 82.5 kg
  2. 3x 93.5 kg
  3. 4x 103.5 kg (1+)
  4. 2x 103.5 kg (joker)
  5. 2x 105 kg (joker)
  6. 1x 105 kg (joker)

my right foot slipped on the last set just as I began to lower the bar for the second rep. regained balance and racked the barbell. sitting at home, I’m not sure it would have been a quality rep anyway. I am happy for doing 4 reps on the 1+ set. slowly, the bench is increasing.

assistance lifts

close grip bench

  1. 10x 77.5 kg
  2. 10x 77.5 kg
  3. 10x 75 kg
  4. 10x 72.5 kg
  5. 10x 72.5 kg

nothing special, but the lifts felt good.

bands: 5x 60 pullaparts

pullups: 10, 9, 6, 7 (at this point I was exhausted)

triceps pushdown with band: 5x 10

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i bench press och har märkts med etiketterna , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

