w3d1+d2 – on sleep deprivation

for various reasons, I do not get enough sleep. planned to sleep a bit longer this morning, but still got to the office at 0610 due to being awake. felt like I could just as well get here instead of staring at the ceiling. the weekend was sub-optimal sleep-wise. monday night was good, today I wish I could take a sick day (but that will only cause more problems).

there are a few things I believe I can do to sleep better. one of them is to lose some weight. this is something I have postponed further than I should have. the reason for this is I wanted to avoid the (perceived) stress of counting calories and the additional task of planning eating more carefully. a vague intention of mine has been to cut a few kgs in january. at this time, however, I feel I will not last that long. maybe I will reconsider.

the worst part about not sleeping enough is that I feel dumb. I’m afraid and stressed that I will do a less than optimal job. this fear enhances my stress reaction, which makes me more scared etc. on the other hand, since I obsess about this I might do a better job than I normally would due to all the precautions I take.

last week I decided to take up meditation exercises. these worked great for me a couple of years back. unfortunately, I have forgotten to do them.

d1 – military press

military press, 5 / 3  / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 56 kg
  2. 3x 63.5 kg
  3. 3x 71 kg (1+)
  4. 2x 71 kg ( joker)
  5. 2x 72.5 kg (joker)
  6. 1x 72.5 kg (joker)

a decent effort. got my three reps at 71 kg without any grind. initially considered doing four reps but chose not to. I’m happy for the lifts!

bench press

  1. 3x 98.5 kg (I made a mistake and loaded the bar a little too heavy)
  2. 10x 82.5 kg
  3. 10x 82.5 kg
  4. 10x 82.5 kg
  5. 9x 82.5 kg
  6. 6x 82.5 kg

my psyche could not take the planned sets, nor could my arms. I might do a variation of the boring but big template that wendler outlines in beyond 5/3/1. in variation one, which I’ve been doing for some time, you just go for 5 sets of 10 reps with the assistance lift. in variation two, you do 5×10 reps on 5 week, 5x 8 reps on 3+ week and 5x 6 reps on 1+ week. will think more closely about this, though.

pullups: 5x 10

one arm dumbbell shoulder press: 12x 22.5 kg, 9x 22.5 kg, 9x 20 kg

dumbbell bicep curl: 10x 17.5 kg, 8x 17.5 kg

d2 – squat

squat, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 127.5 kg
  2. 3x 143.5 kg
  3. 5x 161 kg (1+)
  4. 1x 176 kg (PR)
  5. 1x 178.5 kg (PR)
  6. 3x 161 kg (joker)

felt pretty strong after doing 5 reps at 161 kg. decided to try for a new PR. at 176 kg, I got a 1 kg increase. dug a little deeper and got 178.5 kg without issue. so, 3.5 kg increase in the squat. woooohooooo. just 7.5 lbs to go before I hit 400! feel really good about the new PR.

good mornings: 5 sets á 10 reps at 82.5 kg

pullups: 4x 10

Det här inlägget postades i bench press, military press, squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

7 kommentarer till w3d1+d2 – on sleep deprivation

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Sweet PR. Of course, 4 plates in kilos is only 397 lbs., so you’re technically only 3 pounds away from a 4PLEAT squat.

    Lifting kilos is much easier than lifting pounds.

  2. James skriver:

    Congratulations on the new PR. I can feel my spine compressing just thinking about that much weight.

  3. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Sweet PR. I lost the contest and I will bow down gracefully.

  4. MichiganMethod skriver:

    You’re setting PR’s and want to lose weight?!? Where are your priorities? Haha.

    Nice PR. Sleep is huge for me as well. I hate feeling drained all day because I didn’t get enough sleep. Melatonin, valerian root, and dyphenhydramine all work really well if you need help falling asleep. As far a staying asleep though, I have no idea. I always seem to wake up in the night and its hit or miss on weather I’m able to fall back asleep or not.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Priorities are PRs, but the weight is a recurring issue.

      It’s the staying asleep that fails. Waking up in the middle of the night, stressed out of my mind. Working on that, though.

      • Fatman skriver:

        What are you stressing over, if it’s not too personal of a question?

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        right now, it’s mostly the sleeping issue that raises the weight question. would I sleep better (i.e. snore less) if I lost weight? possibly. it’s not that I’m chasing the jacked and tan look. 🙂

Kommentera

