w6d3 – did I nail my entrance?

I went lifting as planned on thursday, but did not feel like writing the log. felt sick and fever-ish when I woke up. chose to go lift anyway, since it is usually a feeling that goes away once my body wakes up.

I have decided to skip using the tag ”powerlifting”. not that it matters in any way, but I feel that what I am doing is really far from powerlifting. it is just lifting. which I like. since there is no competition to train for, no great goals to reach, it is just entertainment. possibly also good for my health, in some ways.

main lift

bench press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 81 kg
  2. 3x 92.5 kg
  3. 3x 102.5 kg (1+)

when I lifted the bar off for 92.5 kg, my arms were shaking like mad. not that the weight itself was that great, but I just could not stop my arms from shaking. the effort I had to make not to drop the bar on my head was greater than expected. still got the three reps.

at this point I felt like I was going to get ill for real within a few minutes. was slightly hesitant going into the 1+ set. still, did three good reps.

what I took with me as I got up form the bench was this: feeling ill and fever-ish, I could still get three good reps at 102.5 kg. september 25 2015 I did 3x 92.5 kg. a 10 kg increase in sub-optimal condition is not too shabby.

assistance lifts

close grip bench press

  1. 10x 75 kg
  2. 10x 75 kg
  3. 10x 70 kg
  4. 10x 70 kg
  5. 10x 70 kg

somewhat heavy. booooo. still, I believe it is a good exercise for me. triceps, baby!

pullups: 5x 10 (stronk!)

triceps pushdowns with band: 5x 15

band pullaparts: 2x 60

dumbbell shoulder press: 10x 22 kg, 8x 20 kg

that’s all. I probably should have stopped sooner. kept going as long as I felt I had some kind of momentum.

only deadlift session left. hoping to get it done on sunday, provided I feel better by then.

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till w6d3 – did I nail my entrance?

  1. James skriver:

    Part of me wants to say that I think you’re nuts for lifting when you feel sick, but then I’d probably do the same thing, figuring I’d shake it off once I stepped into the squat rack.

    Of course, I’ve been wrong before.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      You have a point, of course. Training while sick is not recommended. I’ve done that a lot in the past and so far I have still to win a world championship. 🙂

Kommentera

