w6d2 – the new squat rack

there is a new gym on the hospital premises that is available only to students and research staff. luckily, I qualify. went there today to try it out. took a quick sneak peek yesterday and noticed there is a pretty nice squat rack (rogue r4). this rack will become my new best friend over many months to come, I hope.

brought a colleague who is both significantly younger and much weaker than I am. he wanted me to teach the squat. after trying to explain that I am not really in a position to teach anything to anyone, we just set him up with a bar on his shoulders. in 15 minutes he showed vast improvements with regards to performing the movement with an empty bar.

he left and I went to squat myself. there came a couple of guys who lacked legs. of course, they went to the bench press, not touching the chest and looking tough. then they switched to incline bench. not that it looked better.

met a guy on my way out whom I assume lifts for real. he looked like a brick house and wore an eleiko shirt. he’s my beacon of hope.

main lift

squat, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 125 kg
  2. 3x 142.5 kg
  3. 5x 158.5 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 158.5 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 160 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 160 kg (joker)
  7. 1x 170 kg

this felt all right. the single at 170 went up fast, although it did not really feel light. I think everything above 150 kg feels heavy, actually.

I am happy with these lifts. going just 5 kg below my PR weight after doing a couple of joker sets at the end of a program cycle. not too shabby.

assistance lifts

good mornings:

  1. 10x 85 kg (+10x 85 kg barbell calf raise)
  2. 10x 85 kg (+10x 85 kg barbell calf raise)
  3. 10x 85 kg  (+10x 85 kg barbell calf raise)
  4. 10x 85 kg  (+10x 85 kg barbell calf raise)
  5. 10x 70 kg  (+10x 70 kg barbell calf raise)

pullups: 5x 10

band flyes: 5x 60

that’s all, folks.

K9NA7o

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

9 kommentarer till w6d2 – the new squat rack

  1. James skriver:

    To be fair, some guys just don’t know any better. I’m glad your colleague has someone knowledgeable to ask about squats. Probably the ”lacked legs” fellows don’t.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      you are most likely right. also, I’ve thought about the way I wrote about these guys and how I have made fun of people in the past. this offers an opportunity for me to be less negative towards others. after all, the bench press guys could be home on the couch not lifting anything.

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    I wish I had a shower at work and you Swedes have complete gyms.

    Nice work on the joker sets.

  3. Fatman skriver:

    Those are some nice squats. My work gym has a (sort of) power rack and fake Oly bars, but they’re not really suitable for heavy lifting. I once tried to squat 315 pounds there and almost died.

    Don’t put too much hope into Eleiko guy. He probably squats to a depth of 3 inches and does half-benches with 100 kilos, like all huge and extremely muscular guys do. There is no justice in the gym.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      thanks! the mint new bars are all eleiko (swedish steel ftw!). however, only olympic bars that bend a bit. I do not claim to notice the flexibility, so it will not limit my squatting, but it looks cool when I walk the weight out.

      did you have to do that? really?

      • Fatman skriver:

        There’s a guy in my gym who looks like a bodybuilder early into his off-season. So huge and very lean, but not quite shredded.

        His main workout consists of half-presses with 315, never going near the chest, supersetted with 3-inch squats with the same weight (he goes a bit deeper when squatting 225, maybe to 5 inches or so). Then a bunch of cable raises and curls and the like. I try to feel superior to him, but it just doesn’t work, as compared to him I look like a skinny-fat noob.

        But I’m sure Eleiko guy does ”real lifts”.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        thanks for the mental picture. I’ll indulge in self-pity as I bench tomorrow. 🙂

  4. Ping: w6dx – bashing other people | lyfta på jobbet

Kommentera

