w6d1 – it’s always darkest before the dawn

slept uneasy, not sure why. woke up several times. still felt rested when the alarm rang.

shoulders are aching from doing thrusters last friday. I did an unnecessary thing and this is what: when I press stuff over my head, I have a fairly tight grip and keep my index finger right next to where the outer knurling on the bar ends. this is due to previous problems (i.e. incapacitating shoulder pain) that came from have a slightly wider grip (a thumbs length out from where the knurling ends). the root of the problem is probably lack of mobility and/or strength, but I solved it by making the grip just a little bit tighter. that and lots of band pullaparts.

when warming up, I could not lock out due to pain. had lots of time today, so I took it easy and did several light sets. still, it hurt. I thought ”screw it” and went ahead with the plan.

main lift

military press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after extensive warmup:

  1. 5x 57.5 kg
  2. 3x 67.5 kg
  3. 2x 72.5 kg (1+)

given the circumstances, I am glad I did get two solid reps. got caught halfway on the third and gave in due to perceived pain. it’s not like I am an athlete who got to push through.

the solution to the problem? keep the press grip, don’t do stuff on a whim and resume the band stuff.

assistance lifts

bench press (which also hurt, it felt like I had a couple of nails under the delts)

  1. 10x 78.5 kg
  2. 10x 78.5 kg
  3. 10x 78.5 kg
  4. 10x 73.5 kg
  5. 10x 73.5 kg

decided to lower the weight after three sets. weak sauce.

pullups: 5x 10. nothing to say, it went sort of smooth.

bonus movements

dumbbell shoulder press: 12x 22.5 kg, 10x 22.5 kg, 10x 20 kg. surprisingly, this did not hurt the slightest.

dumbbell bicep curls: 10x 17.5 kg, 8x 17.5 kg, 9x 15 kg

band pullaparts: 5x 60 + 2x 20

that’s that.

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

3 kommentarer till w6d1 – it’s always darkest before the dawn

  1. Fatman skriver:

    I had some rotator cuff / scapula problems when pressing and squatting recently. They went away with some cable pulling – there are a few specific cable exercises that I feel help a lot with shoulder issues.

    Dumbbells are a great alternative, as they allow your arms to turn/move freely while pressing (unlike barbells). How about switching to DBs for a while?

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Thank you for the suggestion. I’ll see what I can do with the band first.

      A concern regarding dumbbells is this: kind of hard to just put them up in a comfortable rack position. How do you do it? Snatch them up without making a fuss over it?

      Also considering dumping military press and go for candito’s program for a while.

      • Fatman skriver:

        Seated DBs – deadlift them to knees and lean the bottom plate against the knee. Then sit down and kick them up one at a time.

        Or, if benching, just lie back and pull them up and into position. Make sure you have room to dump them on the floor when you’re done, because the reverse process doesn’t work that well.

        Standing DBs – just power clean them. They fall into a more or less perfect rack position every time.

        I won’t be dumping the military press, but I will reduce it to 1x/week. I’ve been experiencing some pain and weakness when benching without a SS (in my clavicles, of all places, never happened before), so I want to see if it’s just the muscles being overworked, or something else.

Kommentera

