w5d3 – refugees welcome

for some time, refugees from the syrian civil war are arriving in sweden. most of the refugees arrive in malmö, the southern-most big city we have in the godforsaken north. NGOs in malmö have done wonderful things to welcome our fellow humans to (relative) safety.

a number of refugees are also coming to stockholm. there are various NGOs that organise food, shelter and healthcare. a minor, but hopefully significant, contribution is the small health center set up at stockholm central station. I have not spent as much time there as my heart is telling me to, since I limit my overall workload best as I can. still, I feel it is a moral obligation to contribute (even if the contribution is small). had a long work day yesterday (0700-2100 if you count both normal work and at the central station) and slept a bit uneasy. woke up dead tired. also overslept a bit.

in lifting terms, not much is new. the sight I encountered this morning upon entering the gym was a guy who was standing in the squat rack doing lunges. with dumbbells.

main lift

bench press, 5 / 5 / 5+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 71 kg
  2. 5x 81 kg
  3. 5x 92.5 kg (5+)
  4. 6x 92.5 kg (5+, second try)

I got really pissed off here. was so sure I would get a seven rep set and was spent after a mere five reps. got six reps when I got back under the bar to squeeze out what I could. in the program, wendler writes 3+ / 5 / 1+. so I am doing something else, really, since I go for 5+. it is really tempting to ditch the 5+ and say I do whatever wendler wants. gotta mull this over.

assistance lifts

military press: 5 sets, each 10x 50 kg

kroc rows: 5 sets, each set 20x 40 kg (lighter than 3+ and 1+ weeks will be beneficial, I tell myself)

bonus lifts today were the following:

biceps curls: 9x 17.5 kg, 9x 15 kg

dumbbell shoulder press: 10x 22.5 kg, 8x 22.5 kg

kumbaya!

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till w5d3 – refugees welcome

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Pretty neat of you to volunteer your time.

Kommentera

