w5d2 – skwutt

as usual on tuesdays, I went to the gym to squat. I was a bit pleased about the 5+ week since I felt weak on monday but was confident that I could outwork the program come squat day.

for reasons unknown to me, the gym is quite empty compared to my expectations. as people get back from their vacations there is always a surge in gym goers. this is not news for anyone who tries to lift, though. all of a sudden, the equipment is in disarray and benches are still sweaty from the douche who just went out the door.

in my private fantasy realm I like to think that me squatting is similar to demetrious johnson in the following sense: in every match for the last few years, he seems to get stronger and is able to outwork his opponent (not to mention being the better fighter). when I squat, the first two reps often makes me feel like I belong in a retirement home. however, if I just push past these I can usually make it a pretty good training session.

main lift

squat, 5 / 5 / 5+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 108.5 kg
  2. 5x 125 kg
  3. 10x 142.5 kg (5+)

I am happy with this. did not go to failure, but had a little more in the tank. not to say it wasn’t heavy, though.

assistance lifts

good mornings: 5 sets, 10x 73.5 kg

barbell standing calf raises: 5 sets, 10x 73.5 kg

suspended rocky situps: 5x 10

bonus stuff
cable lats pulldown: 10x 75 kg, 8x 75 kg, 9x 70 kg

leg extensions: 10x 80 kg, 10x 80 kg, 9x 75 kg

that’s all.

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

5 kommentarer till w5d2 – skwutt

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Candito is just ridiculously strong. He needs to stop making videos.

    Strength is going to fluctuate quite a bit over the week, in my experience. A shitty squat day can be followed by an average/good bench day, and vice versa.

  2. MichiganMethod skriver:

    I know what you mean about the first couple reps being rough. A lot of times my warmups seem a lot heavier than they should be.

Kommentera

