w4d1 – mitral valve, don’t take it for granted

today, I encountered a case with bacteremia (presence of bacteria in the blood). this is something that frequently happens to people who are intravenous drug users, but it can happen to others as well. the bacteria may be eliminated by the immune system. but then again, maybe not. one of the complications that can occur, should the immune system fail to eliminate the bacteria, is adhesion of bacteria to heart valves. this is not a good thing, in case you were wondering. what can happen is that the bacteria degrade the heart valve and you get a severe insufficiency, probably accompanied by further complications. or you just get infective endocarditis and die before you notice that the valves are bust. a likely source for this infection is wound in the mouth. so kids, don’t chew on your lips.

this morning in the gym, I met the consultant with whom I worked (i.e. he was my supervisor/mentor) during the weekend shift in the ER. apparently, he also lifts. lucky for me, I am significantly stronger.

I tell myself I really feel less energetic overall. not going to work and just eating cookies all day during the summer clearly gave me an edge with regards to lifting. going to work (I like work, though, as much as anyone can) introduces a new variable in the energy/focus equation. not complaining. just a reflection that the perceived gains I got during the summer will probably not continue to come so rapidly now. bring it, life!

main lift

military press, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 55 kg
  2. 3x 62.5 kg
  3. 4x 68.5 kg

I did not get the fifth rep I was aiming for. of course I am a bit upset (gym hulk strikes again!) but then again it feels somewhat reasonable. last monday, I did 71 kg for four reps. the difference between 68.5 and 71 is not that big. the numbers will just carry over to my next cycle, where I will get the fifth rep.

assistance lifts

bench press, paused on chest.

  1. 10x 73 kg
  2. 10x 73 kg
  3. 10x 73 kg
  4. 10x 73 kg
  5. 10x 73 kg

heavy stuff. got the reps I aimed for. looked at my spreadsheet and noticed that load on these paused assistance bench presses increase quite fast. I might have to dig dig every time. maybe that’s a good thing.

pullups: 5x 10 strict ones (I rule)

had a few minutes for bonus movements.

dumbbell shoulder press: 12 + 8 reps at 22.5 kg

dumbbell biceps curls: 9x 17.5 kg + 8x 15 kg

that’s that.

oh, and I read a book by patrick modiano on the train this morning. that’s all, he wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

5 kommentarer till w4d1 – mitral valve, don’t take it for granted

  1. celicaxx skriver:

    So you’re saying it might be a bad idea to boil my own trenbolone on the stove from pellets meant for cows?

  2. unrealisedgains skriver:

    This happened to a friend of mine as a baby. Many complications with heart valves. He was OK in the end.

    But this year he got scepticemia, and went for the Ross procedure.

Kommentera

