w3d3 – heavyweights of the world, unite!

so, I am sort of fat. I am also sort of almost average strong. something that has become apparent to me is how strong some people are.

not that I am surprised, though. when I trained (please note the tempus) jiujitsu and almost started to not suck I knew that some people were ridicioulosly good. a couple of years ago, we invited a brazilian friend (victor hugo do nascimento from equipe 7, look him up) to stay in sweden for a couple of months. as expected, he made very short work of me when we sparred. I was used to everything being a complete war on the mats, but mostly regarding technique and effectiveappliance of the techniques.

so, why these thoughts?

today (thursday) was bench day. I did could not really identify the ser of feelings I carried with me into the gym. to some extent I was already tired and not overly enthusiastic about lifting. I can count myself among the lucky ones who feel a compelling obligation to perform the programmed lifts (and also come off as a pretentious bastard when I write about it).

the stuff I see at work, it cannot be properly described.

main lift

bench press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 80 kg
  2. 3x 90 kg
  3. 4x 101 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 101 kg (joker)
  5. 1×102.5 kg (joker)

all reps paused on chest, no bouncing off ribcage. the four rep set required me to dig deep inside, especially since I watched mark bell bench 4 plats for reps on youtube this morning. nonetheless, I am happy for the reps I made.

assistance lift

close grip bench press

  1. 10x 80 kg
  2. 10x 70 kg
  3. 10x 70 kg
  4. 10x 70 kg
  5. 10x 70 kg (joker)

this felt incredibly heavy. I’ll leave it at that.

kroc rows, the greatest back builder known to lifters

  1. 20x 43 kg
  2. 20x 43 kg
  3. 20x 43 kg
  4. 20x 43 kg
  5. 20x 40 kg (joker)

I found a 3 kg wrist weight which I used while doing krocz. felt stronk here. the grip was tight and the reps came without grind. a killer movement!

bonus dumbbell shoulder press: 2 sets á 10 reps at 20 kg

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

8 kommentarer till w3d3 – heavyweights of the world, unite!

  1. James skriver:

    All I can say is if you’re ”almost average strong,” and do bench presses as you’ve listed above, I must be in terrible shape. This is my bench press as of this morning:

    5x 135lbs/61.235kg
    5x 145lbs/65.7709kg
    5x 155lbs/70.3068kg
    5x 155lbs/70.3068kg
    5x 165lbs/74.8427kg (Bonus)

    As you can see, my best effort is still less than your’s. If you are only average strong where you come from, your people must be monsters. 😉

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      swedish ice hockey player peter forsberg (also famous for playing in nhl) said ”losing is for the other guys”. without being close to the athlete forsberg is/was, I tend to adopt the same attitude. when comparing oneself to good or great people, the standards are high.

      that said, I want to enphasize that your development seems solid, james. keep up the good work!

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Stronk sets! Are you working in the ER at a hospital?
    Krocs are good. I trade them in and out with Pendlay Rows. Mark Bell seems to be a nice guy.

    I’ll bet you are not as fat as me.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      🙂

      I am still under training, but to a certain extent, yes. the position usually varies from week to week, though.

      never did pendlay rows, really. talk on the internet is that they, also, make a really good movement for the back. do you feel that either of those movements are more taxing than the other?

      bell is a businessman. it seems he has created means to support his family. heck, the guy even has desigbed a reebok shoe, albeit within the crossfit line.

      I’d rather not take that bet.

  3. Fatman skriver:

    ”to some extent I was already tired and not overly enthusiastic about lifting.”

    This is me 80% of the time I lift.

    My enthusiasm for lifting has really bottomed out over the past 6 months or so. But on the other hand, I have never lifted more often or harder (by harder I mean in terms of effort expended – I have definitely lifted heavier weights) than in the past 6 months or so. As long as you can resist the call of the couch and the beer after work, you’re doing OK.

    ”so, I am sort of fat.”

    Why would you write this? Have you gotten massively fatter since that last photo you posted?

    Comparing yourself to other people is a mindfuck. Especially when they are 50 pounds heavier than you, have been training way longer and are gucing actively. There’s always someone out there who can squat 200, 300, even 400 pounds more than you, even if you’re very strong for an average gym-goer. Comparing yourself to yesterday-yourself is the only way to make it.

    Chest-supported rows on bench are the no. 1 middle/upper back exercise. Even more so with dumbbells. Unfortunately you need one of those tall Celica Chinese benches to do them. I like seated cable rows as an alternative.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Maybe what I feel is something similar in the sense that I have, compared to how I’ve lifted previously, really put in an effort during the summer. Also, life. Decided the other day not to get too big expectations regarding joker sets and bonus lifts as I don’t have the time anymore.

      I have a hard time, as you can tell, with bodyweight over 100 kgs. Even though it is irrelevant I make comparisons to when I have competed in bjj tournaments at 86 kgs (88 kg with gi). I am much stronger now and don’t compete, so there is no real issue.

      Thank you for the reality check. 🙂

Kommentera

