w2d4 – would I change form?

alarm rang early. wife went to her gym, I went back to sleep for another hour. woke up from a nightmare. felt a bit off.

watched a video where a bunch of people discussed the question ”if steroids were legal, would you take them?”. the answers from the panel are not as clear cut as I would like them to be. to me, PED’s are simply not kosher. at the same time I think I can understand why people use them, but I still do not approve (not sure who cares, though).

took the bike today. sun was shining and I had some errands to take care of on the way home. the perceived freedom when I riding old two-wheels is fantastic. I hit the reps I needed to, but since hindsight is 20/20 it would possibly have been better to skip the bike and get one or two more reps.

main lift

deadlifts, 5 / 5 / 5+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 126 kg
  2. 5x 146 kg
  3. 8x 165 kg (5+)

tired all over. no pain, though, just tired. it was all right and I could do one more rep than the bare minimum required to proceed to next week.  it felt good to push through but still be smart enough not to injure myself for nothing.

assistance lifts

squats, ass to calf/olympic/all-the-way/bruh-style

  1. 10x 107.5 kg
  2. 10x 107.5 kg
  3. 10x 107.5 kg
  4. 10x 107.5 kg
  5. 10x 107.5 kg

extra hard today. got the reps I wanted to. nothing more, nothing less.

barbell calf raise

  1. 10x 107.5 kg
  2. 10x 107.5 kg
  3. 10x 107.5 kg
  4. 10x 107.5 kg
  5. 10x 107.5 kg

had time for doing these. not sure if it really helps, but calves feel more stable when squatting and that’s something.

band pullaparts

5x 60, for a total of 300 reps

out, up and away!

Det här inlägget postades i marklyft och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

11 kommentarer till w2d4 – would I change form?

  1. Fatman skriver:

    I have given some thought to steroid use. Purely from a theoretical standpoint, of course – I don’t compete and don’t think juicing is worth the risk, even though the actual health risk has never (to my knowledge) been scientifically confirmed.

    (Alleged) health risks aside, my biggest concern regarding juicing is that if I got on now I would have to stay on for the rest of my life, because my natural hormone production would never recover. Also the danger of going bald, which I kinda fear more than death itself. So I would probably not guce even if it were legal.

    Legality is not an issue for me anyway, as I think it is hypocritical for steroids to be illegal while tobacco and alcohol are not. As Dorian Yates said, a bottle of aspirin can kill you much faster than multiple doses of testosterone.

    I think any attempt to assign some sort of moral plus or minus to steroids is ridiculous. One chooses to use them, or to not use them, and that’s about it.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      it seems reasonable to consider the dangers of usage related to the dosage. it should be theoretically possible to juice under somewhat safe circumstances.

      legality. yes, legality. alcohol has caused enormous suffering for people but is still legal (even though it is more closely regulated in sweden than in many other countries, google systembolaget). stop tobacco and alcohol first.

      for me, it is not really morality but rather the un-safe usage and the lack of serious studies. if a safe protocol of steroids use could be established and the PED’s were fairly distributed to athletes, sure. have different leagues for tested and non-tested athletes with the benefit of people not dying from juicing too much. hopefully I can get a couple of million dollars, an ethical permit and the opportunity to study the long-term effect of steroids.

      now, gene doping is the next big thing. it will be very interesting to see how that plays out.

      • Fatman skriver:

        I am familiar with the Norwegian Vinmonopolet concept, is that similar? It’s great that countries are taking steps toward reducing alcohol use, but it’s still legally available, and no matter how expensive you make it people will still buy that stuff. Same with cigarettes.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        Yes, similar. Stuff with low alcoholic percentage (vol%) can be sold in any store, but stuff with that is somewhat heavier are sold in state-owned monopoly stores. I love it. Should do the same for tobacco.

        True. But it still discourages drinking. And people get less alcohol per swedish krona.

  2. celicaxx skriver:

    Meh, I’m waiting til I’m in my 30s, have kids, and going to the doctor and getting on a nice 250mg of testosterone.

    I pretty much just see steroids as medications. Giving someone opiate painkillers so they can continue working day to day is considered morally fine, giving kids stimulants to pay attention in school is fine, and giving women sex steroids so they can be fucked more without condoms is fine, never mind those drugs have in many ways more drastic sides than testosterone for a male does. So I don’t get that an athlete training 20-30 hours a week let’s say, can’t take 250mg testosterone a week. It’s horse shit. Never mind TUEs and the politics of who gets them and who doesn’t, and that one guy can be using legally while the competition can’t.

    I do think WADA has done a good job in that they’ve eliminated the dangerous anything goes wild west type doping protocols. So we don’t really have East German swimmers or women with beards or 22 year old balding weightlifters. So that’s good, but they’ve created I think an almost unrivaled period of corruption in sports, with some athletes and countries being allowed to dope or bribe to cover tests. So I think therapeautic doses should be allowed (which is mostly how actual athletes use steroids,) just not 1-3 grams a week type of usage seen in bodybuilding and untested powerlifting.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Steroids have great effects in many situations, if you use them wisely and with control.

      I’m actually ambivalent here. On one hand I am sick and tired of people using whatever PED’s they can find and then lie blatantly about using when they get caught. On the other hand, even I ha e been injured enough times to appreciate the thought of using something to heal faster (or be able to train more).

      • celicaxx skriver:

        My position is as long as they have a prescription, screw it. Mind you the dose would have to be reasonable. But that’s pretty much how it works in the rest of adult life for controversial medications.

        But yes, true unlimited steroid use is dumb.

        tnation.t-nation.com/free_online_forum/sports_training_performance_bodybuilding_gear/posible_russian_weightlifting_steroid_cycle Russian Olympic weightlifting cycle. Less drugs than the average gymgoer takes to get swole.

      • Fatman skriver:

        Prescription gucing would be the ticket. But that’s already legal in most of the civilized world.

        Also there is a common-sense element to guce use. If you take steroids and accept the (potential) associated health risks, at least do it for a worthwhile goal. Do it in order to achieve something in your sport of choice (national, Olympic or world title contender). If you’re gucing to bench press 400 and squat 600, or grow 18-inch arms, or win a local PL meet in a ”federation” formed by you and the two dudes you train with, you are an idiot and should be removed from the gene pool ASAP.

  3. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Juice it up. Really, its like Fats says, not a moral issue. You either get on the train or not.

    As the Swede says, booze and tobacco have killed way more people than guce.

    Sweden’s regulatory policies in regards to alcohol have led to a swift uptick in homemade brews haven’t they? Ah, homemade aquavit. My family was notorious for it 50 years ago.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      The moral argument can be very dangerous to make. Your morals are not necessarily my morals and so on. So, just like you say, either do it or don’t. But make sure you are intelligent enough to make a somewhat informed decision.

      During the years, people have made their own alcohol. That’s true. Nowadays I like to think it is more common to go abroad (Germany, Denmark) and buy cheap alcohol. To some extent (I have not tried it myself, I only rarely drink alcohol) you can also order it online, but I am not sure if it is cheaper than Systembolaget.

Kommentera

