w1d4 – skwat as usual

a couple of years back mark bell lost his older brother, seemingly due to psychological illness and addiction. these are difficult things to talk about, let alone deal with. do what you can, but one person can seldom do everything. get help.

today I went to the job gym close(r) to home. after sleeping in (didn’t get up until 730), of course. not many people there at that time. met S, though. she seems to have worked on her squat technique and mobility quite a bit since I saw her last. keep it up!

got yelled at by A, the big guy who cleans the gym. very politely, he pointed to the fact that I sweat a lot. also, he informed me that he just mopped the floor. as I did my 3+ set deadlifting, I say someone approaching from my side. being in the middle of a set, I decided not to care but to finish the aforementioned set. as I put the bar down, I noticed it was A. he gave me a roll of high-absorbing paper towels to wipe my head with while chastising me mildly. a great guy.

main lift

deadlift, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 136 kg
  2. 3x 155 kg
  3. 7x 175 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 175 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 177.5 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 177.5 kg (joker)
  7. 3x 177.5 kg (joker)

felt pretty stronk in the 3+ set. did a couple of joker sets but chose to say well below 180 kg.

assistance lift

squat

  1. 10x 115 kg (+10x 115 kg calf raise)
  2. 10x 115 kg (+10x 115 kg calf raise)
  3. 10x 115 kg (+10x 115 kg calf raise)
  4. 10x 115 kg (+10x 115 kg calf raise)
  5. 7x 115 kg

on the fifth set, something began to hurt in left leg (like tuesday). I took the easy way out.

bands

  1. 60
  2. 60
  3. 60
  4. 60
  5. 60

if I don’t do these, my shoulders get all messed up. at least it seems that way.

 

Det här inlägget postades i marklyft och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

6 kommentarer till w1d4 – skwat as usual

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Man, Stinky is in the gym every single fucking day now. He was gone for over a year. I’m blaming you for summoning him.

    Nice pulling BTW.

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    I too, lost my brother to addiction and illness. What made you post/watch that video?

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      I am sorry for your loss.

      I’m lucky enough to still have my brothers here but have lost friends due to addiction issues. I just want to promote awareness regarding psychic illness and/or addiction issues.

      Especially one friend comes to mind. He seemingly overcame his addiction issues, turned his whole life around. Then we lost touch, perhaps as people sometimes do. Recently learned he passed away and that he was really miserable towards the end. He was a good guy and did not deserve to go like that.

      • jaysun1971 skriver:

        The frustrating part of addiction and psychology is that people never deserve to die like that but, they do. I wanted my brother to ”get better,” but he did not and I miss him. I try to be understanding of those who are addicted and hope that they manage to be able to enjoy lif.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        I hear you. Less judgemental feels like a good attitude.

Kommentera

