w1d3 – the gru-hind

hank the crank, positive guy.

my back felt a bit better today (was just tired from monday) and I went to lift as planned.

got up early as usual (0430) and walked into the crossfit gym at 0545. once again I got invited by my friend (whom I shall call ”the key” from now on, for various silly reasons). he is considerably more active, physically, than I am. probably intellectually as well. cycling, swimming, lifting and then taking care of full-time job and two small kids. props.

the key was a bit tired today. he aimed to superset squats and bench (5+ week). 5+ set on squats got cut short, as did the bench. not everyday can be a successful gym day, apparently. he does, however, take the bike to work afterwards and that’s a 50 min ride. anyway. we (that is, I) had a great session, as usual. meeting up early in the morning with someone you actually like beats staring at the same sort-of-strangers-but-not-really. I am truly thankful for all the good people I know and I hope I show this when we hang out.

I shared the bench with key and two crossfitters. it was really nice, even if it’s just one time, to be in a group that lifts together. it encouraged me to work even better.

main lift

bench press, 3 /3  / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 75 kg
  2. 3x 85 kg
  3. 7x 96 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 96 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 98 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 98 kg (joker)
  7. 3x 100 kg ((joker)
  8. 3x 100 kg (joker)
  9. 2x 102 kg (joker)

every set paused on chest, except the last one (102 kg). I felt stronk. apparently some of the crossfit people present thought so too. I am happy with the perceived progression.

assistance lifts

military press

  1. 10x 52 kg
  2. 10x 52 kg
  3. 10x 52 kg
  4. 10x 52 kg
  5. 10x 52 kg

heavy halfway through, but nowhere near impossible. my shoulders are pretty much toast now, though. good thing I don’t need them until monday next week. 🙂

pullups

  1. 10
  2. 10
  3. 10
  4. 10
  5. 10

next to me, one of the crossfitters (a really nice guy) was doing kipping pullups. we joked about who would finish first. he did 60 reps and was done when I hit 40. made me glad I do not participate in competitions/workouts for time. this particular guy has only been lifting for about 18 months. when he walked in, he could not do a single pullup (even with kipping). great progress there!

bands

  1. 60
  2. 60
  3. 60

time was running a bit short. key had to get to work, I had an errand that I needed to take care of.

a great way to start my day. now I’m trying out a new recipe for pulled pork (with apple juice and whiskey, wish me luck).

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

3 kommentarer till w1d3 – the gru-hind

  1. MichiganMethod skriver:

    How’d the pulled pork turn out?

Kommentera

