w1d2 – he made his bed, now he’s gonna die in it

stayed up later than usual yesterday, reading ”the goldfinch”. I appreciate the contrasts, as I perceive them. read the book. it is probably worth it.

I anticipated a confrontation with stinky today, due to the very minor argument about the bench press yesterday. was prepared to see him do biceps curls in the squat rack upon entering. he did not show in the main weight room until I was well into squatting. I like to think he avoided me, but this seems unlikely.

encountered some adversity at work. considered quitting four times this morning. decided against doing so. will grind through, but on my own terms this time. last summer, I came in on my holiday to keep the ship floating. not this year.

main lift

squats, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 112.5 kg
  2. 3x 128.5 kg
  3. 8x 145 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 145 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 146 kg (joker)
  6. 3x 146 kg (joker)
  7. 3x 147.5 kg (joker)

aimed for ten reps in the 3+ set. felt like I was finished after eight reps and chose to stop, rather than rest standing with the barbell on shoulders and possibly fail, with regards to form, anyway.

I am currently happy with the eight reps. onward to bigger and better numbers!

assistance lifts

good mornings (supersets with band pullaparts, for a total of 300)

  1. 10x 78.5 kg (+10x 78.5 kg calf raises)
  2. 10x 78.5 kg (+10x 78.5 kg calf raises)
  3. 10x 78.5 kg (+10x 78.5 kg calf raises)
  4. 10x 78.5 kg
  5. 10x 78.5 kg

moderate weight for moderate number of reps. will hopefully give moderate results. the calf raises were something I chose to do on a whim.

suspended situps, rocky style

  1. 10
  2. 10
  3. 10
  4. 10
  5. 10

these were ok. a little bit less hard than I remember from two weeks ago. not sure if that’s a good thing.

leg extensions

  1. 10x 80 kg
  2. 9x 80 kg
  3. 8x 80 kg

that’s all.

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

6 kommentarer till w1d2 – he made his bed, now he’s gonna die in it

  1. celicaxx skriver:

    I like the good mornings + calf raise superset thing you do. I keep thinking everytime I see it ”Man, I gotta do that!” then when I’m at the gym I forget.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      🙂 it works like a charm, but I’m not sure if there is a real benefit to it. I do it due to imbalances between legs/feet (right side shows heavy pronation).

  2. huikat skriver:

    Cool, I plan on reading The Goldfinch soon too!

Kommentera

