w1d1 – the goldfinch

today a new cycle started. given time and effort I could figure out which cycle number we are talking about but it does not really matter. what matters, however, is that I longed for pressing movements. today I got my fill.

summer is a time for reading, for movies and for new music. in the two past weeks I’ve read four books, watched a classic movie (extended three hour version, of course) and a few episodes of a new (for me) series. now I just want to build a few new playlists. started reading ”the goldfinch” yesterday. like it already.

this morning I may have been a bit rude to stinky in the gym. as usual, he was occupying the bench press doing skull crushers with the z-bar. he has got the whole free weight area for himself, but chooses this place for reasons unknown to me. a few weeks ago it was the same thing. anyway, I politely asked if he could possibly move and let me use the bench. his response was something like ”but I just have a couple of sets left”, so I asked him, not as politely as I would’ve wished, to move his ass. which he did. props, stinky.

main lift

military press, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 51 kg
  2. 3x 58.5 kg
  3. 5x 65 kg (3+)
  4. 2x 65 kg (joker)

the 3+ set felt good for four reps and I had to dig real deep to get the fifth repetition. I got it. maybe I need to do more shoulder movements? flyes? got stuck approximately just before getting clear of my head.

assistance lifts

paused bench press

  1. 10x 71 kg (+6×10 band pulls)
  2. 10x 71 kg (+6×10 band pulls)
  3. 10x 71 kg (+6×10 band pulls)
  4. 10x 71 kg (+6×10 band pulls
  5. 10x 71 kg (+6×10 band pulls)

these were harder than I expected. perhaps my body got soft, real soft, during the week off? got all the presses done, anyway.

lats pulldowns, cable machine with v-grip

  1. 10x 80 kg
  2. 10x 80 kg
  3. 10 80 kg
  4. 10x 75 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

the weights are not impressive. my perceived victory is that I probably performed the movement a bit more strict and involved the lats more than I believe is the case usually.

currently, there is not great rush to get to work so I could do a couple of extra minor lifts.

dumbbell shoulder press

  1. 8x 25 kg (per side)
  2. 7x 25 kg (per side)

krocs

  1. 16x 40 kg
  2. 16x 40 kg

biceps curls, fat gripz in preacher bench with z-bar

  1. 9x 35 kg
  2. 8x 35 kg

triceps pushdowns, cable machine

  1. 10x 60 kg
  2. 8x 60 kg

that’s that.

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

8 kommentarer till w1d1 – the goldfinch

  1. Fatman skriver:

    ”these were harder than I expected. perhaps my body got soft, real soft, during the week off?”

    In my experience, repping strength goes down the toilet after 1-3 weeks without lifting. Max strength stays pretty much the same.

    Squats are even worse.

  2. MichiganMethod skriver:

    I can’t wait for your post the day after you squat. ”What happened to my legs?!?”

  3. jaysun1971 skriver:

    The Goldfinch is a book the wife has been raving about. Let me know if you like it, she did.
    I’m scared of my time off and how bad my maxes are going drop. The workouts I’ve been doing are all BW and conditioning to lose a little fat. I’m already down 2#.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      My preliminary verdict is that I like it. Might be worth to read.

      So, abs before gainz? 😉

    • Fatman skriver:

      Just restart the weights/program after you get back from vacation and you’ll be fine.

      One-rep maxes are overrated anyway. I’m about 86% convinced they are a poor indicator of overall strength. Rep maxing in various ranges is where it’s at.

  4. Ping: w1d3 – poptjik! | lyfta på jobbet

Kommentera

