w6d4 – I am here

last lifting day before a rest/deload week. this morning, on the train, I thought that I maybe had postponed the rest for too long given how my body felt at the moment. now that I’m in my office with a cup of coffee and a few hours separated from the gym everything feels awesome. today I did pretty good with regards to lifting and surpassed the program, which was not something I expected.

also, I have made significant progress in my calculations. yesterday afternoon I stalled and could not for my life make the simplest equation give me a correct number. this morning, it turned around. getting (more) sleep truly is beneficial.

with regards to the film above: I like the punisher as a comic character. the violence portrayed can, and sometimes should, be discussed at length. maybe watching ”friendship is magic” will benefit you more and enrich your life in ways the punisher cannot. I, however, prefer the punisher for a lot of reasons.

main lift

deadlift, 5 /3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 142.5 kg
  2. 3x 160 kg
  3. 4x 180 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 180 kg (joker, 85 % of actual max)
  5. 3x 180 kg (joker, 85 % of actual max)

possibly, I could have continued with joker sets but I chose to do only two sets due to 1) form breakdown and 2) time restraints.

I’m happy with the four reps in my 1+ set. decided beforehand that I would be satisfied with three reps and possibly a single or two for joker sets.

assistance lifts

squats (narrow stance olympic style etc.)

  1. 10x 118.5 kg
  2. 10x 118.5 kg
  3. 10x 118.5 kg
  4. 10x 118.5 kg
  5. 10x 118.5 kg

expected this movement to be more strenuous than the first sets indicated. form felt good, but I have a problem observing or detecting my degree of buttwink. since chris duffin is my guru (after coach and fatman, but they don’t produce enough videos for my taste, so…) I’ve been thinking about the wink from time to time. then again, johnny candito says buttwink ain’t no thang.

hanging/suspended situps

  1. 10
  2. 10
  3. 10
  4. 10
  5. 10

a little easier today, but still not very pleasant.

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i marklyft och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

12 kommentarer till w6d4 – I am here

  1. James skriver:

    You set the bar pretty high, at least for me. This morning I did a new personal best on deadlifts: 5x 95.3 kg but I’ve obviously got a long way to go. Good on you, mate.

  2. Fatman skriver:

    Punisher the comic is great. Punisher the movie sucked.

    Buttwink is something that should be avoided IMO. Rounding the spine under a heavy load just doesn’t seem like a good idea. I know that Oly lifters squat like 600 pounds with insane buttwink, and Rippetoe sees a neutral spine while squatting as an abomination, but I have tried to correct mine as much as possible. Take a video of yourself squatting to determine if you’re ‘winking or not.

  3. ruinchristmas skriver:

    Sorry i’ll try to make more buttwink videos for you. Hue.

    Good clip, even though i don’t typically like comics or fictional vigilantes. I prefer quicker kills though. Not a fan of the burning/lingering at the end. Like i like seeing bad guys die for hurting a kid but burning a guy to death for being a pimp seems extreme.

Kommentera

