w6d3 – perception vs reality

I was not overly thrilled to get out of bed this morning. still tired from tuesday, but I’m assuming that the mental component is greater than its physical counterpart.

yesterday evening, we had dinner and watched the latest episode of ”game of thrones”, just like everyone else in our demographic group. this show has slowly, very slowly even, encouraged me to like a certain character. in this episode, I was suddenly reminded why this particular character is an asshole. if you have seen the episode, you know whom and what I mean.

yesterday was also the last day at work for my friend and colleague who defended his phd thesis about a week ago. it was quite emotional for me. who is dale without chip? just a stupid chipmunk with a big nose. lucky for dale, he is charming all on his own.

looking through the work of a person who has recently left the department. I’m gonna use some of her data to proceed with a certain project (nanoparticles, man!). when re-doing the calculations, I discovered some mistakes made by the colleague. congratulations self, you just got more work!

celicaxx: check this link and see if you like what you find (I am lazy, but it’s a good source of music).

main lift

bench press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after a lengthy warmup:

  1. 5x 78.5 kg
  2. 3x 88.5 kg
  3. 3x 98.5 kg (1+)
  4. 1x 98.5 kg (joker)
  5. 1x 100 kg (joker)
  6. 1x 100 kg (joker)
  • whats good: I made enough reps to advance to the next program cycle. yey.
  • what could have been better: I went under the bar with my mind set on five or even six reps, based on the 5×97 kg I managed a few weeks ago.
  • how to proceed: I felt really weak when I only got three reps. immediately, thoughts such as ”why am I even here?”, ”will this amount to anything, even in the long run” and ”I should have stayed in bed” overwhelmed me. made an effort to acknowledge that I had made the three reps my program calls for.

assistance lifts

close grip bench press

  1. 10x 62.5 kg
  2. 10x 62.5 kg
  3. 10x 62.5 kg
  4. 10x 60 kg
  5. 10x 60 kg

this got heavy quite fast. nonetheless, I like the movement. I am currently fed up with military presses for volume. thus I try to escape into the close grip bench press. it is not really the same, but I like the variation.

v grip lats pulldown

  1. 10x 85 kg
  2. 10x 85 kg
  3. 10x 80 kg
  4. 10x 75 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

the program called for krocs and I though about krocs during the bench sets. then I stopped thinking and headed straight for the cable machine. I’ve done this a few times recently. not sure why, though. hopefully it’s just some kind of coping mechanism and not a sign of early-onset dementia.

dumbbell shoulder press

  1. 10x 25 kg (per arm)
  2. 8x 25 kg (per arm)
  3. 10x 22.5 kg (per arm)

kroc row

  1. 20x 40 kg
  2. 20x 40 kg

that’s all, she wrote.

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

4 kommentarer till w6d3 – perception vs reality

  1. Fatman skriver:

    ”made an effort to acknowledge that I had made the three reps my program calls for.”

    Keep in mind that you only needed 2 reps on that set with 98.5 to successfully complete this workout. So you still exceeded expectations and are on the right track.

    Think of 5/3/1 as a primitive form of auto-regulation. If you’re feeling great on a given day, you’ll obliterate your daily goal. If you’re not feeling great, you’ll only do what the program calls for. But either way you’ll do what you need to progress. It’s a long-term program, you need to trust it.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      You are right, of course. Thanks for the positive reinforcement.

      I trust in the program. It has served me well for two years now. Todays expectations were highet than the actual performance, nothing more. 🙂

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Excellent job. When I think I am going no where with my lifting, I just look at the very first spreadsheet from August 2014 and see how much progress I have made. Though I had a past that included weight training, I decided to make a better and long term effort. While my gains are not super, I have surpassed what I thought I would be able to accomplish. IDK, helps me get over the funk.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Good point. I find it too easy to get lost in the internet jungle where everyone seems to have an elite total.

      Like you, I prefer to look at my progress as it is. Sometimes it’s just hard to remember that. 🙂

Kommentera

