w6d2 – switcharoo

for the last three days, I’ve listened to the above song numerous times. it resonates with me. art imitating life imitating art. a translation of the lyrics cannot do justice to the the original. also, I really appreciate that the vocals are sung with vasa dialect.

the inclusion of  music videos might have encouraged celicaxx to ask for assistance. let’s see if I can live up to it.

after a pleasant change in scenery, I am back at the regular hospital during the summer. starting today I will be commuting exclusively by train. it is possible to ride the bike, but it takes me about 90 minutes and has a negative impact on my capacity in the gym. we’ll see how it turns out.

when I got to the gym today, all pumped up for deadlifting through the goddamn roof!, the bar I intended to use was taken. since the remaining barbell was associated with the squat rack, I decided to squat instead of deadlifting. partly due to my own irritation when I see people using the squat rack for things other than squats.

main lift

squat, 5 / 3  / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 120 kg
  2. 3x 135 kg
  3. 6x 151 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 151 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 152.5 kg (joker)
  6. 1x 152.5 kg (joker)

the legs were aching from the start and I had little to no confidence of actually performing. given that, I am happy with the six rep set at 151 kg. also, I dare to claim that I made sure to hit each rep deeper than absolutely necessary.

all in all, I get to advance to the next program cycle.

assistance lifts

good mornings (supersets with standing calf raise)

  1. 10x 83.5 kg (+ 10x 83.5 kg calf raise)
  2. 10x 83.5 kg (+ 10x 83.5 kg calf raise)
  3. 10x 83.5 kg (+ 10x 83.5 kg calf raise)
  4. 10x 83.5 kg (+ 10x 83.5 kg calf raise)
  5. 10x 83.5 kg (+ 10x 83.5 kg calf raise)

the good mornings were ok. the 11 kg difference compared to last week is significant. I made my best to keep the knees straight, but the form did break down as I progressed.

situps (hanging in knees)

  1. 10
  2. 10
  3. 10
  4. 10
  5. 10

I discovered a rack, of sorts, for situps. it looks kind of like this, but you’re hanging in the knees and not the feet. nonetheless, it was exhausting. a singing pain in the abdomen that remained even after I climbed down. this was all due to the ab wheel being broken.

that’s all.

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

6 kommentarer till w6d2 – switcharoo

  1. MichiganMethod skriver:

    Nice squat numbers. At the very beginning of the Rocky montage Celica posted, you can see Rocky doing those exact situps you mentioned off the rafters in a barn. You were channeling Stallone and didn’t even know it.

  2. ruinchristmas skriver:

    good lifting, and way to rediscover the 1960s anti-gravity contraption for situps.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Thanks. And I appreciate the video. 😉

      • ruinchristmas skriver:

        it’s one of my favorite songs. because of Back to the Future but also because i like the line about the log cabin made of earth and wood, which is basically my garage. I picture myself as Johnny B. Goode but with a squat rack instead of a guitar. ah dreams.

  3. Ping: w6d3 – perception vs reality | lyfta på jobbet

Kommentera

