w6d1 – victories, according to plan

yesterday, I came to think of this cartoon. it has not aired for quite some time, as far as I know, but I played a NES game based on this show way back. possibly I even liked it.

elitefts has an article with the title ”you need a glute ham raise – here’s why”. when I finally start earning a decent salary, I will consider buying a GHR. but first, I’ll buy a steam machine and a freezer filled with ice cream.

something I will look more closely into, some day during the summer, is this article about pressing stuff overhead.

rode my bike to the gym. the slightly unpleasant weather ensured that the roads were relatively empty.

main lift

military press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 55 kg
  2. 3x 61 kg
  3. 4x 68.5 kg (1+)
  4. 3x 68.5 kg (joker)
  5. 1x 70 kg (joker)
  6. 1x 71 kg (joker)

so, the joker sets comprising a single rep were not too much to brag about. what made me leave the gym smiling today was the four rep set with 68.5 kg, a rep PR (for those who count such things).

the last time I had a 1+ week, I did 3x 67.5 kg in the last work set, followed by a 3x 67.5 kg. while my capacity to perform a single rep can vary from day to day, I choose to cherish this perceived victory.

assistance lifts

paused bench press

  1. 10x 76 kg
  2. 10x 76 kg
  3. 10x 76 kg
  4. 10x 76 kg
  5. 10x 76 kg

these were really heavy in the last set. grinded the reps out and moved on. I like to think that all the pain and work I put in here will pay off when it is time to establish a new bench maximum. let’s keep fingers crossed that I am right in this regard.

cable pulldown, v-grip

  1. 10x 85 kg
  2. 10x 85 kg
  3. 10x 80 kg
  4. 10x 80 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

each time I perform this movement, I am amazed at how much it hurts and how heavy it is. doing pull-ups is something I dread, especially since I’ve gained weight, but it hurts less than doing the lat pulldowns with regards to fatigue in the arms.

today I have oceans of time due to no work at all. thus, I stayed in the gym and supersetted a couple of finishers.

bicep curl (preacher bench, z-bar, no fat gripz)

  1. 8x 40 kg
  2. 8x 35 kg
  3. 6x 35 kg

kroc rows

  1. 10x 40 kg (per arm)
  2. 10x 40 kg (per arm)

that’s all, she wrote.

 

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

5 kommentarer till w6d1 – victories, according to plan

  1. Fatman skriver:

    By cable pulldowns with V-grip, you mean these?

    They do place a lot of strain on the arms. I’ve even read a couple articles where they are recommended not as a back exercise, but as an arm exercise (for the brachialis).

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      exactly. although I am aware of the strain it puts on the arm (both from experience and form literature), I had not encountered the articles you mentioned. my thinking is that I still hit the lats pretty well, but doubt is always present.

      I’ll mull it over a bit. fatman, you got an opinion on whether or not to do these lats pulldowns?

      • Fatman skriver:

        Any kind of pulldown is good in my book. I usually do seated rows with a V-bar, ”regular” lat pulldowns and pullups. But I’ve also done V-bar pulldowns in the past.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        I’ll think more about variation in the future, then. thanks for the input!

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Do the wider grip lat pull downs and do pull overs to get a good pump.

Kommentera

