w5d4 – volrammos

that’s that. the summer has officially begun, with regards to both weather and workload. dressed in shorts and shirt with sleeves rolled up, I’m ready to take a stroll in the sunlight. but first, log!

rode my bike to the gym today. when I got there, one of the regulars was using the squat rack to deadlift. not one to be discouraged by apparent stupidity, I asked to work in. the guy, whom I know is quite friendly, agreed to let me do this. I could power clean his weight, press it to squat position and warm up. felt like a badass doing this.

main lift

squats, 5 / 5 / 5+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 105 kg
  2. 5x 120 kg
  3. 9x 135 kg (5+)

a decent effort. I was considering going for 10+, but stayed at nine. form would probably have been less than optimal had I continued.

assistance lifts

good mornings

  1. 10x 72.5 kg (+10 calf raises, same weight)
  2. 10x 72.5 kg (+10 calf raises, same weight)
  3. 10x 72.5 kg (+10 calf raises, same weight)
  4. 10x 72.5 kg (+10 calf raises, same weight)
  5. 10x 72.5 kg (+10 calf raises, same weight)

these felt good today. light load gave me an opportunity to work (more) on form. me gusta. did a few calf raises as well, which is something I figure will help me with the bum right foot/knee. maybe I’m wrong, though.

leg extensions

  1. 10x 90 kg
  2. 10x 85 kg
  3. 10x 80 kg
  4. 10x 80 kg
  5. 10x 80 kg

just because I could. no rush today, since the main lift was really quick. I like leg extensions and think that maybe I should do them more often.

ab wheel (from knees)

  1. 15
  2. 15
  3. 15
  4. 15
  5. 15

felt strong doing these. abs fo sho, but hidden underneath an appealing layer of wobbly belly fat.

wanted to try something a gym acquaintance talked about the other week: barbell hip thrusts.

  1. 10x 40 kg
  2. 10x 40 kg
  3. 10x 40 kg

felt somewhat wierd at first. my reasoning behind doing these is that a) the program ”knäkontroll” (knee control) has shown to decrease incidence of ACL injuries by 2/3 by incorporating, among other things, hip thrusts and b) my right side is significantly less muscular than my left side. ACL injuries are probably less than likely for me, but I think doing hip thrusts won’t hurt me.

that’s all. and it was a lot.

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

12 kommentarer till w5d4 – volrammos

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Hip thrusts are good, did them before I hurt my back/hip. Should probably start doing them again. There’s a regular at my gym who does them in the power rack and uses like 400+ pounds.

    I’ve also been doing weightless hip thrusts lying on the floor with my feet on a chair, one- and two-legged. Also a lot of adduction (abduction?) with a thick rubber band around my knees. Gets the hips nicely warmed up for squatting.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      400+ pounds sounds a bit much. but maybe still something to aim for. 🙂

      the knee program I mentioned includes hip thrusts (one and two legs) without weights, so I’ve tried that. today I went for the slightly more advanced* variant (*: perform the exercise just like all the girls do and you’ll be fine). the band sounds like abduction work to me. maybe I should go for that as well, thanks for the suggestion.

  2. James skriver:

    Just saw a brief video on hip thrusts and they look kind of hazardous. I’m nursing a sore back as it is and that lift looks really painful. It also looks like you’d never be able to get the barbell in position and then get it off again without assistance, at least if it’s at all heavy.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      for people like you and me, who are not strong in the sense of competitive powerlifting, I think no weight or a moderate weight will be enough. but what do I know, today was my first day. 🙂

      • James skriver:

        Well done.

      • Fatman skriver:

        The guy I mentioned above does them from pins set very low in the power rack. So he loads the bar, gets into position under it, then does the hip thrusts and crawls back out when he’s done. I’ve tried it, and it works pretty well.

  3. ruinchristmas skriver:

    nice 297×9 on squat i would not enjoy such a feat. Volrammos!

    you could do a barbell glute bridge. And then a floor press. There’s a guy at my gym who does those 🙂

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      floor presses is something I’ve been thinking about since I read that you did them way back. let’s see if I get around to including them in ”my” program.

  4. jaysun1971 skriver:

    That is nice on the squats. Sommarlov!

Kommentera

