w5d3 – moving forward

the above match between xande and dean is one of my favourites. I’ve always liked lister due to what I perceive as his unwillingness to compromise his wants/needs vs wants/needs of other people (it also potentially makes him quite an asshole, but let’s leave that aspect for now). xande has been around for a long time and consistently performed at a very high level.

today I feel much better. the coughing has subsided to almost nothing. thus, I went to the gym this morning.

main lift

bench press, 5 / 5 / 5+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 66 kg (paused)
  2. 5x 76 kg (paused)
  3. 7x 86 kg (not paused)

I briefly considered going for an eighth repetition. chose to end the set, however, instead of succumbing to (temporary) fatigue.

all in all, I’m happy about lifting today. a couple of weeks ago, the previous 5+, I did 8x 85 kg. if I can come to the gym after coughing my lungs out for two days and still get a seven rep set it feels all right.

assistance lifts

close grip paused bench press

  1. 10x 60 kg
  2. 10x 60 kg
  3. 10x 60 kg
  4. 10x 55 kg
  5. 10x 55 kg

I did not feel like doing fifty military presses for assistance, so I went for variation. it is my belief that the close grip bench benefits me tremendously with regards to actual bench pressing. that said, I am less than certain that it is a movement that gives me the most bang for the buck in the long run. we just have to wait and see how it turns out.

cable lat pulldowns, parallell grip

  1. 10x 85 kg
  2. 10x 85 kg
  3. 10x 80 kg
  4. 10x 75 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

I felt immensely strong in the first set. strict, precise and without a bloody sound (except breathing).

had a little more time than usual this morning, so there was an opportunity window for more sets.

dumbbell shoulder press

  1. 10x 25 kg (per arm)
  2. 8x 25 kg (per arm)
  3. 8x 22.5 kg (per arm)

military press is the overhead pressing that I tend to do. nice to try something else.

krocs

  1. 20x 40 kg (per arm)
  2. 20x 40 kg (per arm)
  3. 10x 40 kg (per arm)

I straight up did not want to do krocs as the main pulling exercise today, and I’ve felt that way for some time. while I believe the movement itself to be very beneficial it is quite taxing on both the body and the mind.

that’s that.

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

4 kommentarer till w5d3 – moving forward

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Close grip bench is good, but I’m never sure how much it’s helping my actual bench. ALso it tends to be pretty hard on my wrists, even though I don’t use a crazy narrow grip (about a hand and a half closer than my normal grip is fine).

    I might switch to Kroc rows for a while for variety’s sake. I prefer to do one giant set of them (20-30 total reps with a weight I can maybe manage for 10), switching arms without break (one side rests while the other is working).

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      good input regarding the close bench. thanks. I like to believe that we are two completely different lifters, especially when it comes to the bench (different in the sense that you can handle weights I cannot move even if my life depends on it). I have not yet felt an increased strain on my wrists, but maybe that will come when there is more than one plate on the bar. 🙂

      do you go for a kroc set where your perceived form breaks down completely?

      • Fatman skriver:

        It’s been a while since I’ve done any Kroc rows, but yes, I did do them with sort of loose form. I also do them with the opposite knee and hand on a bench, not standing like actual Kroc does them. So I guess that makes them a bit easier.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        I do them using a bench like you but I still think I’ll die. So much for easy. 🙂

Kommentera

