w4d4 + w5d1 – all at once

when I was much younger than I am now, I recorded ”all I want” on VHS tape. watch, rewind, watch, rewind. I loved that song then and I love it now. what appealed to me in the video was the guy running. that feeling remains still.

last week things were a bit hectic. a friend and colleague defended his phd thesis last friday. I was toastmaster during the dissertation dinner and had a few things to take care of. during the last few years, a respectable number of people from our division have earned their phd titles. but not me, not yet. so far, I have refused to register as a phd student. first, I want to find a project that I really like. second, I feel like I currently do not have the work capacity to take on more responsibility.

as for lifting, the plan was to squat saturday or sunday. I opted out due to exhaustion and a sore throat. went lifting today (monday) even though I still feel like a cold is just waiting to break out. nonetheless I wanted to get up to par with my programmed training session.

coach wrote about a t-nation article. my favourite part is this:

What fucking gym do you go to?  Oh, that’s right the secret gym in the T-Nation compound where Tim Patterson has rigged the water fountains to dispense Plazma. All elite weightlifters except the big fat heavyweight ones look muscular

good stuff, you should all read coach’s post.

I’m trying to understand some things about damage to the cruciate ligaments, as well as other joints. let’s see where I arrive at.

w4d4 – main (and only) lift

squat, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 111 kg
  2. 3x 126 kg
  3. 5x 141 kg

I just did the bare minimum to advance to the next week. it is probably all right once in a while.

w5d1 – main lift

military press, 5 / 5 / 5+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 47.5 kg
  2. 5x 55 kg
  3. 7x 61 kg

lifting was really hard. my body did not really want to improve itself today. luckily, mind prevailed over matter to some extent. again, I did the bare minimum to advance to next the week.

w5d1 – assistance lifts

paused bench press.

  1. 10x 66 kg
  2. 10x 66 kg
  3. 10x 66 kg
  4. 10x 66 kg
  5. 10x 66 kg

these were all right. I believe I get incredible gainz from the paused bench. also, feel like a real lifter if you don’t look at the actual weight on the bar.

lats pulldowns (v-grip)

  1. 10x 80 kg
  2. 10x 80 kg
  3. 10x 75 kg
  4. 10x 70 kg
  5. 10x 70 kg

 

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress, squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

2 kommentarer till w4d4 + w5d1 – all at once

  1. celicaxx skriver:

    This song is the best. Remember this from Crazy Taxi on Dreamcast. Gotta add it to my punk rock playlist for gyming whilst pretending I’m a teenager skateboarding.

  2. ruinchristmas skriver:

    Now I will be famous(er) in Sweden. Thanks 🙂

Kommentera

