w4d3 – no rest for the wicked, atlas shoulders

yesterday was the last day on boss island. I’ve learned so much (and will probably forget most of it in three days time) from people whose amassed knowledge is stunning. they might not have academic degrees to cover their office wall (like some I know), but their clinical experience and knowledge is truly immense.

we have, of course, focused on learning for the purpose of evaluating patients. however, I have learned things about my own body as well. my right knee and right foot are not just slightly bummed, they are truly messed up. I will try to work with adjusting movement patterns and building strength/stability. probably no more running (yay!), at least for now.

during the day, we got to play around a little bit with equipment for testing and analysing athletic performance. one of the machines, bromsman (basically ”brake man”) was the one I found to be most interesting. visualise a squat rack, only the barbell is suspended in heavy  duty cables. the barbell is then lowered at a certain speed, and you are supposed to squat down carrying the bar on your shoulders, and when you eventually fail the machine will carry the bar (while you curl into a ball and cry). I didn’t really get the hang of it, but what I did was carry 270 kg on my shoulders for a few seconds. not really impressive by itself, but a good feeling nonetheless.

other than playing with advanced toys, we spent most of the days testing our knees and our mobility. low intensity activity during the whole day. got some good things to work with here as well.

during a short break, I got an opportunity to get a few lifts in.

main lift

bench press, 3 / 3  / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 71 kg
  2. 3x 81 kg
  3. 5x 91 kg (3+)
  4. 3x 91 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 92.5 kg (joker)
  6. 2x 92.5 kg (joker)

so, I passed this week as well. I had hoped for 7-8 reps in the 3+ set, but it didn’t happen. I can blame lots of things (lifting three days straight, not resting enough, maxing out on deadlifts on tuesday etc.) but I choose another way of looking at it: 5 reps in the 3+ sets is a pass. and that is all that matters to me in this context. thus, I win.

assistance lifts

military press

  1. 10x 50 kg
  2. 10x 50 kg
  3. 10x 50 kg

krocs

  1. 20x 40 kg
  2. 20x 40 kg
  3. 20x 40 kg

I did not have time to do a full assistance (5 sets of each), so tried to optimise by supersetting and then moved on.

Det här inlägget postades i bänk och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

7 kommentarer till w4d3 – no rest for the wicked, atlas shoulders

  1. jaysun1971 skriver:

    ” visualise a squat rack, only the barbell is suspended in heavy duty cables.” – will have to google this as it sounds kind of useless. what is its purpose?
    Sounds like you are getting a lot of good education in regards to your profession.
    What’s wrong with your foot?

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      it looks like this (not me in picture, though): https://rowingteamsvea.files.wordpress.com/2011/07/jag-bromsman.jpg. the purpose is to use significant overload in training but still minimise the risk to break something.

      the education is great, I could not ask for more.

      my right foot has a pronation (fallen arch, but not quite as flatfoot as donald duck). after a few seconds, people with real skillz determined that my foot problem has caused me to use compensatory movement patterns. the result is obviously less muscle volume in right calf, thigh and gluteal region when compared to my left side. interesting is that while using the bromsman (the suspended bar thing), the machine measured an equal amount of weight distribution on both feet (not sure if that’s proper english). so, my compensatory movement patterns seem to serve a purpose right now. I might have to change some things if I want to be able to run in the future, though.

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Ok, thx for the pic, that helps me realize that it is not useless.
    Your English is fine, you should hear my Swedish.
    Just finished watching that video, hilarious.

    • Fatman skriver:

      Would buy one of those squat things if I had the $$$ and space.

      You could probably rig something like that up in a squat rack. Suspend the barbell from ropes that are exactly long enough for you to break parallel. Like dumping it on pins, but without the spinal jarring and damage to the bar.

      I’ve found the stationary bike to be a much better option for low impact cardio than running.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        Just like you say, something like it can be built at home. This machine, however, also measures how much energy output you can produce in a given position (you are standing on pressure-sensitive plates).

        I guess it’s biking or walking for me from now on.

  3. Fatman skriver:

    Question on joker sets – are you supposed to do these in the 5+ week? Also is the format for the 5-week ”5/5/5” or ”5/5/5+” (do you max out on the last set)? I guess I could ”buy” ”Beyond 5/3/1” and find out, but I’m too lazy to look for it and then read it.

Kommentera

