w4d1 – military press, going forward

took the bike to the gym. the sun was shining, heaven was crisp blue and I figured I needed some hippie happiness.

as rollins say in the clip above, I like all of you.

main lift

military press, 3 / 3 / 3+. after warmup:

  1. 3x 50 kg
  2. 3x 57.5 kg
  3. 6x 63.5 kg
  4. 4x 63.5 kg (joker)
  5. 3x 65 kg (joker)
  6. 2x 65 kg (joker)
  7. 3x 66 kg (joker)
  8. 2x 66 kg (joker)

I am pretty happy about lifting this morning. compared to the last 3+ week, where the weights were the same, I did one more solid rep today. then, I continued. according to my own rules, I should have stopped after doing a meager two reps on 65 kg. in retrospect, I felt really strong after taking a rest and just trying to push through (hue hue).

assistance lifts

proper paused bench press (supersets with band pullaparts, total 300):

  1. 10x 71 kg
  2. 10x 71 kg
  3. 10x 71 kg
  4. 10x 71 kg
  5. 10x 71 kg

pretty pleased here as well. did not expect to do so, relatively, well on the paused bench. I’d like to think that the pause is my (current) key to success. let’s see what happens if I continue.

lats pulldowns, vertical grips.

  1. 10x 85 kg
  2. 10x 85 kg
  3. 10x 80 kg
  4. 10x 75 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

I strive to do these as strict as possible, which I feel makes it quite taxing on my arms. the lats get hit, as they should, but probably not nearly enough since the arms are the limiting factor for me. nonetheless, I like this. will probably use a v-grip next time.

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

5 kommentarer till w4d1 – military press, going forward

  1. Fatman skriver:

    How do you determine the number of joker sets? That seems like an awful lot of jokers.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      My idea is basically that I do sets of three for as long as I can. Do you have another, possibly better, idea? I figured this is autoregulation. 🙂

      • Fatman skriver:

        Not really, I’ve decided to try out 3/5/1 and am really interested in your experiences with the program. I do think it’s a good form of autoregulation. If you can, do 5 extra sets; if you can’t, you don’t need to do any.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        For what it’s worth, I like the 3/5/1 structure more than 5/3/1. Not sure why, but feels like I get a rest week without jokers inbetween the two heavier weeks. This is of course not entirely true if you go for a six week cycle before deload.

        What you mention last is what I’ve arrived at. It gives me the percieved opportunity to break PRs all the time.

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Nice job on the MP! Crushing it! I love ol’ Henry too!

Kommentera

