w3d1 – self evaluation

back in the saddle after a weekend off. saturday brought with it great weather in the morning and we went for a 2 hour walk, then another walk in the afternoon in not so great weather. active rest for the win. sunday turned out to be good for staying inside and writing stuff, due to rain pouring down almost the entire day.

the small project I’m working on (regarding hockey players) is really interesting. I haven’t found as many studies as I hoped for, but the ones that I actually have found raise many interesting points. examples are:

  • is it possible to maintain your VO2max by running intervals just one day every second week? yes, it seems so.
  • is long intervals better than short intervals? not necessarily.
  • what off-ice parameters correlate closely to on-ice sprint performance?

if it turns out to be interesting enough, I will write more about my conclusions once I’m done. I mean, who does NOT want more bang for their buck? maybe especially so when it comes to training.

return tomorrow for a short WADA story about how you should not talk to swiss presidents.

main lift

military press, 5 / 3 / 1+. after warmup:

  1. 5x 53.5 kg
  2. 3x 60 kg
  3. 3x 67.5 kg
  4. 3x 67.5 kg (joker)
  5. 1x 68.5 kg (joker)

so, I hit my target number of reps in the third work set. aimed for four reps but didn’t get it today. I am confident that my perceived gainz in the military press are for real, however.

assistance lifts

bench press (supersetted with band pullaparts, 300 reps as usual).

  1. 10x 75 kg (paused reps)
  2. 10x 75 kg
  3. 10x 75 kg
  4. 10x 75 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

unfortunately, I did not manage properly paused reps after the first set and just reverted to my ordinary ”touch chest but don’t bounce it, then press” approach. nothing too fancy, really. on a positive note, I pushed through (hue hue) although it felt horrible in the last set. for a second I was getting dizzy and my vision became hazy.

lats pulldowns, v-grip (cable machine)

  1. 10x 85 kg
  2. 10x 85 kg
  3. 10x 80 kg
  4. 10x 75 kg
  5. 10x 75 kg

this put a lot of strain on my arms. when I’m doing lats pulldowns, the burn is almost always worst in my arms/biceps. not that the back is entirely relaxed in any way, but the arms are the limiting factor.

had time today, so I did something for the arms as well.

barbell preacher curls (fat gripz, z-bar)

  1. 10x 35 kg
  2. 9x 35 kg
  3. 6x 35 kg

triceps pushdown (cable machine, rope grip)

  1. 10x 60 kg
  2. 10x 60 kg
  3. 10x 60 kg

 

Det här inlägget postades i militärpress och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

