w2d4 – safety not guaranteed

when I saw ”safety not guaranteed” I felt a faint hope that maybe, just maybe, time travel will be possible during my lifetime. something that would be almost just as sweet would be interstellar travel. luckily for me, bill nye the science guy launched a kickstarter campaign the other day where he (and some others) will try to build a new kind of spacecraft. worst case scenario, humanity gets a bunch of non-wanted guests.

I’ll write more WADA/doping stories in a few days. that way I can possibly trick people into getting back to my blog, reach a bigger audience and feel more loved on the internet.

currently, I’m doing a small literature study regarding the training of ice hockey players. the initial idea was to compare the in-season training to the training in the off-season, especially with regards to strength building in the off-season. however, finding studies that investigate this proved to be more of a challenged than initially anticipated. I seem to have landed in something significantly simpler. I still have learned some things about using off-ice measures and which of those actually correlate to on-ice performance.

main lift

squat, 5 / 5  / 5+. after warming up:

  1. 5x 103.5 kg
  2. 5x 118.5 kg
  3. 9x 133.5 kg

this was an okay performance. my legs are still a bit sore from wednesday’s jogging. the knees are fine, though, which is something I was a little worried about going into the gym this morning.

assistance lifts

barbell good mornings are possibly the most important assistance lifts during squat day (these were supersetted with band pullaparts, 300 as usual).

  1. 10x 72.5 kg
  2. 10x 72.5 kg
  3. 10x 72.5 kg
  4. 10x 72.5 kg
  5. 10x 72.5 kg

not bending the knees. working that lower back. yeah, I felt like conan the barbarian doing those. apparently the old guy in the smith machine thought so too, since he really ogled me.

ab wheel from the knees, the second most important assistance lift.

  1. 15
  2. 15
  3. 15
  4. 15
  5. 15

had enough time to try out to finishers.

band resisted crunches. I tried real situps, but couldn’t make it. still, it was really hard.

  1. 10
  2. 10
  3. 10

tried some kettlebell goblet squats to stretch out, imagine that I reinforce the correct movement patterns and looking like an overall gym badass.

  1. 10x 20 kg
  2. 10x 20 kg

that’s that.

 

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

10 kommentarer till w2d4 – safety not guaranteed

  1. Fatman skriver:

    Safety Not Guaranteed was a great movie. I expected it to be lame and dumb and it totally surprised me.

    ”apparently the old guy in the smith machine thought so too, since he really ogled me”

    Nothing beats getting ogled by old dudes at the gym.

    Well, maybe going into the locker room and having a 70+ guy come in and pick the locker right next to you even though THE WHOLE ROOM IS EMPTY and, of course, proceed to strip down buck naked. For some reason, old men seem to be unable to go into or out of the gym without removing every article of their clothing both times. Alternative version – walks out of the shower and plops down / drips on bench two inches away from you. Literally. Two inches.

    Extra points can be won by said naked old dude commenting favorably on your physique, spraying water droplets as he leans in closer. And closer.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      Have you seen ”Eagle vs shark”? Somewhat similar.

      So, if you’re into old guys, the gym is a potential gold mine. If you prefer women of any kind, you have an excellent opportunity to go full creep on them. Great options. 🙂

  2. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Never seen either movie, but will check them out.
    I have been ogled by old timers at the gym as well. My favorite was the 80YO Hungarian guy who after watching me BTN press gave me a lecture about the old days in the old country.
    After my session, I was in the sauna and in he walks buck naked and promptly takes a seat ”two inches” from me even though we were the only two in the sauna.
    Me-”How ya doin’ ?”
    Him-”Ahhh, just like the old country. Next to friend sitting.”

  3. celicaxx skriver:

    I do good mornings with no knee bend as well, down to maybe 70 degrees or so, not quite 90 but close. Generally I use 50kg. I’ve used 60 before, but usually I’m lazy and just do them at the end of my workout with 50kg.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      I find 90 degrees somewhat hard and would appreciate my own angle similar to yours, about 70 degrees.

      my (limited) experience is that it is not necessary to use a really heavy load. personally I believe t o have achieved noticeable results (with regards to performance in the DL and squat) with weights below 90 kgs.

      • celicaxx skriver:

        For me, my anecdotal evidence of it working in regards to DL is that I didn’t DL for basically the whole year, maybe 3-5 sessions of clean grip deadlifts at 225ish, and I beat my sumo deadlift PR by 5lbs, I think thanks to doing good mornings very often.

        I also enjoy seated good mornings as well, though those I only use 95-100lbs as well.

      • Fatman skriver:

        The good morning, like the barbell row, is one of those pesky exercises that you’re better off doing correctly with 135 pounds than using 315 with even a slight cheat. I don’t do them anymore, but I can’t imagine anyone needing to use more than 185 pounds ever.

        Going down to 90 degrees with a slight bend in your knees is definitely feelsgoodman.jpg.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        Then I rejoice in your approval. 🙂

Kommentera

