Det kunde varit värre

Trolig vilodag idag. Är på resande fot, på väg till idrottsmedicinsk konferens. Hoppas lära mig många användbara och spännande saker.

Igår mätte vi kroppsammansättning för att det var roligt. Jag var mindre fet än jag förväntade mig. Vikt är med kläder (jeans, skjorta) men minus skor och strumpor.

image

Ett litet incitament att bromsa den fortsatta, ogenomtänkta, bulken. Det är gott med godis men tråkigt att vara tjock.

Det här inlägget postades i omkring och har märkts med etiketterna , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

8 kommentarer till Det kunde varit värre

  1. jaysun1971 skriver:

    Don’t pay attention to that stuff. 😕
    Hey, you are strong, right?

  2. lyftapajobbet skriver:

    I am happy with the numbers. Really expected body fat to be around 30%. As I got the numbers in my hand, I felt great motivation to lose weight in a controlled manner. However, I just ate a piece of cheesecake and it was great.

    • Fatman skriver:

      Body fat ”analyzers” based on BIA are garbage. On the other hand, bulking with junk food is a bad idea. Bulking (the right way) requires more dietary planning than cutting, IMO.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        Good point about junk food. My problem, if there is one, is my tendency to give in to food cravings. I eat good food, but I also eat a bit too much cake. In Sweden we are cursed with lösgodis (google that) and the average Swede eats 15 or so kgs of candy per year. The socioeconomic pattern is hard to escape.

      • lyftapajobbet skriver:

        Planning for smart food intake is more energy-consuming than just stuffing ones face, I agree with you (not that I dare to argue…). I’ve been meaning to be more rational with what I eat but so far I’ve postponed it for no reason. Let’s see what the near future holds!

  3. celicaxx skriver:

    Understand candy feels.

    My philosophy on bulking/cutting is besides my high carb/low fat nutritional ideology, is basically, pick a weight class. Get down to a certain weight, and try to stay within 5-10lbs of it all the time. During a harder training block or the holidays, you can eat more and get a little heavier (5-10lbs) but then after your training gets less hard for a bit, you can drop back down the 5-10lbs relatively easy. Then you mostly stay the same weight plus or minus 5-10lbs, but gradually gain more muscle in that weight class and thus look skinnier due to more muscle. I think this ideology is much better than the bodybuilding ”bulk” philosophy, where you go from, say, 160lbs, to 200, then end up at 170, spending 4-6 months ”bulking” and then 4-6 months ”cutting.”

    Besides being better than ”bulking” I think it’s also better than myfitnesspalling every calorie so you stay exactly in maintenance calorie not gaining even 1lb ever range and not allowing for your body to naturally tell you when it needs more food (during a rougher training time) or doesn’t.

    • lyftapajobbet skriver:

      I totally agree with you regarding the overall strategy. For a number of years I consistently kept within 2 kg of my then bjj weight class, and competition preparation was easy.

      The issue at hand, I feel, is that I’ve been eating too much cake and candy for too long (on top of the actually well-planned regular meals).

      Thanks for reminding me of the essentials (not fluctuating too much).

    • Fatman skriver:

      ”where you go from, say, 160lbs, to 200, then end up at 170, spending 4-6 months ”bulking” and then 4-6 months ”cutting.””

      Absolutely. Except that on a bulk/cut protocol you’ll go from 160 to 200, then end up at maybe 162 over the course of a year, mentally discouraged due to ”losing muscle size brah” and with your bloodwork in the shitter. Or you’ll just keep permabulking.

      I think the Paul Carter recommendation to get down to a desired BF% first (actually a little lower), then gradually gain muscle (and a little bit of fat) from there on, is spot on.

Kommentera

