w3d2 – squat och PR

utvilad, utsövd och välmående. det blev en lång dag igår men jag åt och sov som det anstår en kung. eller åtminstone en svensk hertig, vilka står sig slätt i en internationell jämförelse.

elitefts har en text om att bygga mental styrka. joe schillero skriver om fem kvaliteter han tycker är värda att odla hos en bra lyftare, och jag kan tycka att det är goda egenskaper hos människor i allmänhet. viss självinsikt tror jag är bra för att växa som människa. två saker känns värda att återge från texten, för den som inte orkar klicka på länken:

Humility

I list humility first because pride (in its negative sense) can be one of our biggest threats in this industry. In strength/physique sports where we base our success on comparisons to others, it can be easy for pride to take over our attitude, which in turn carries over to our actions and how we interact with others. Pride is what keeps us from listening to our coaches and training partners. Pride is what causes us to misrepresent our sport with negativity, and pride is what ultimately can cause us to lose sight of our goals and impede our ability to help others.

Now, it’s important to understand that humility doesn’t mean a lack of confidence (the next mental tool). When many think of someone who is humble, they imagine someone hiding in a corner afraid to be aggressive in the pursuit of his or her goals. To the contrary, humility is afforded by a strong confidence in your abilities and purpose. Adopting a humble mindset will allow you to take advantage of the resources around you (e.g. training partners, coaches, articles). This will help you in your personal performance and in the representation of your given sport. Humble coaches and competitors draw more people into their craft and inspire them to pursue their own goals.

Confidence

To some, it may seem strange to see confidence and humility partnered together. To be told that they can be exercised simultaneously may seem contradictory, but it is actually necessary. This is where it is important to draw the line between confidence and unhealthy pride (arrogance). Someone who is truly confident in his abilities won’t feel a need to demean others or refuse help from those who can pass on valuable wisdom. The flip side of arrogance is that it can be easy to undervalue your own abilities by comparing yourself to others who are much more experienced and stronger than you, but this is something you need to avoid at all costs. Don’t avoid competition. Instead, embrace an environment of stronger and smarter lifters and let them put a fire underneath you to become better. Don’t discount your own personal PRs and victories. Use those victories to build confidence as you improve. Your confidence should be evident every time you approach the bar and in your humility every time you interact with another lifter or athlete.

kanske något att tänka på nästa gång jag hatar på de jag möter på gymmet.

huvudlyft

knäböj på formen 5 / 3 / 1+.

  1. 5x 120 kg
  2. 3x 135 kg
  3. 3x 150 kg

målsättningen var en fyra, men jag fick för mig att jag skulle åka ned för långt i hålet och inte komma upp. nöjde mig tillfälligt efter tre repetitioner, som för mig ändå är godkänt på vecka 3, och gick vidare på joker sets. typ. idag kändes det bekvämt med singlar, så jag körde på där.

  1. 1x 157.5 kg (PR)
  2. 1x 162.5 kg (PR, 1.71 gånger kroppsvikten)

gymrekord är inte samma sak som validerade lyft på tävling. tveksamt om jag någonsin kommer tävla så jag tar alla uppnådda mål jag kan. eventuellt var lyften även till parallell.

assistanslyft

leg extensions, med bandövningar i alla vilor.

  1. 15x 75 kg
  2. 15x 70 kg
  3. 15x 70 kg
  4. 15x 70 kg
  5. 15x 70 kg

liggande lårcurls

  1. 15x 55 kg
  2. 15x 50 kg
  3. 15x 50 kg
  4. 15x 45 kg
  5. 15x 45 kg

 

2 September 2014

2 September 2014

 

Det här inlägget postades i squat och har märkts med etiketterna , , , , , , , , , . Bokmärk permalänken.

Kommentera

